Brave Browser, BAT and the benefits of using it

in #minnowsupportproject7 years ago (edited)

Browse faster and safer with Brave.

The new Brave browser automatically blocks ads and trackers, making it faster and safer than your current browser.
Start supporting publishers today with our new Brave Payments system.

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 17.54.47.png
When I first found out the Brave browser I didn't believe in it and all my log-in details were stored in Safari, Apple Keychain. However, I gave it a try and I have to save I totally love it. This browser is fantastic so far.
You can see my results of how much time did I save and ads blocked in the last few days.
Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 18.04.25.png

Let's talk about privacy.

Brave browser also protects your privacy.
Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 18.03.44.png

Let's meet the team behind Brave.

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 18.10.20.png
The founder of Brave and BasicAttentionToken is Brendan Eich. The creator of Javascript and Co-Founder of Mozilla and Firefox.
Rest of the team.

The cryptocurrency behind the Brave browser.

What does BAT stand for and what is it?
Basic Attention Token. The BAT, a token based on the Ethereum technology, can be used to obtain a variety of advertising and attention-based services on the Brave platform, a new Blockchain based digital advertising system. User attention is privately monitored in the Brave browser and publishers are rewarded accordingly with BATs. Users also get a share of BATs for participating.

What do BATs represent?
BATs are tokens intended for use on the Brave platform, a new Blockchain-based digital advertising platform. Ownership of BAT carries no rights other than the right to use BAT as a means to obtain services on the Brave platform, and to enable usage of and interaction with the Brave platform, if successfully completed and deployed. BAT do not represent or confer any ownership right or stake, share or security or equivalent rights, or any right to receive future revenue shares, intellectual property rights or any other form of participation in or relating to the Brave platform, and/or Brave and its affiliates. BAT are not refundable and are not intended to be a digital currency, security, commodity or any other kind of financial instrument.
Additional information regarding the utility of BAT on the Brave platform is available in our terms and conditions.

How will Brave store the funds?
Brave will use the standard Ethereum multi-signature wallet to store ETH.

Are BAT tokens transferable?
Tokens are immediately transferable. Tokens used in the Browser may only be donated or used to pay publishers for premium content or for other services. Tokens may also be used by publishers for promotions.

Was the ICO success?

It was one of the fastest selling ICO in the history.
Source

Is it a good investment?

I believe in this project and I think this is a great opportunity for a long time investment. Roadmap will be announced next week and there is no use of the coin yet.
Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 18.23.34.png
The price may be low, but it's the perfect time to invest. You don't want to buy when it's high anyways. It's not available on the bigger exchange sites like Poloniex, yet. When it will be available there, the price will probably go up. It has no real use yet. Once you can finally use it with the browser the price will increase.

Sort:  

I've stopped using Safari & Chrome for Brave!! 💭
They say if you use it, invest in it... So I might just have to jump onboard early with BAT.

Brave is fantastic if you ask me :) And I did pick up some BAT tokens for the medium-long term, hope they get the whole system figured out! Seems really cool

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://basicattentiontoken.org/token/index.html

I have been kicking the tires on the Brave browser... have to say so far I am quite impressed. I do think this has excellent potential. Sounds like they have good leadership as well. I am in the tech field and will be encouraging end users to give it a try. Most people abhor ads and they use very few plugins. From a security standpoint I think its an excellent idea for the average user out there. Thanks for posting.

Very nice summary. I've been a fan of BAT for a while. I use adblock by default and whitelist sites that place clean and unubtrusive ads on their site. I'd be happy to load up a few BAT to make adds go away from these whitelisted sites - if the price was right.

I tried to buy BAT in the ICO and it was a clusterfuck. I bought shortly afterwards on etherdelta and I didn't pay too much of a premium. I'm going to hold them for the medium term at the very least, because I really like what they have done so far.

Same for me. It was nearly impossible to buy during ICO.

I love the show Brave ads option, so I can still support sites I want, but won't get annoying pop-ups and spam ads.
Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 18.46.18.png

I'm not exactly sure how Brave pass on the money from brave ads to the original content creator. I surely would be a mess right now.. but I guess if they become very successful it will sort itself out organically.

There was some article about how BAT will leave Youtubers a higher cut without involving any 3rd party, than the current AdSense system. I can't find the article now, but I'll try to find out later and send it to you.

Looks like you may have some original content mixed in there. Use quotes and cite sources, please.

Not indicating that the content you copy/paste is not your original work could be seen as plagiarism.

Some tips to share content and add value:

  • Using a few sentences from your source in “quotes.” Use HTML tags or Markdown.
  • Linking to your source
  • Include your own original thoughts and ideas on what you have shared.

Repeated plagiarized posts are considered spam. Spam is discouraged by the community, and may result in action from the cheetah bot.

Thank You! ⚜

Edited. Sorry for the inconvinience.

I missed the bat ico

Brave mobile is best, on desktop I don't use it much. But mobile seems to be the future anyway. I hold some BAT.

It's a nice idea. Pay content providers for providing good content and pay browser for viewing ads. But they are not paying browsers for ad viewing yet as of 1/24/18. Today I did get $5 in BAT for free to pay publishers though. Until they implement pay for view ads and support more plugins, I'm not sure this is going to take off.

Brave Browser is great! Latest version fixes lot of crash/memory issues https://sourceforge.net/projects/downloadbrave/

thank you so much. Now i'm using it for my search on web.

How do I donate my BAT allowance?
Which wallets support BAT?