Port Washington, Wisconsin ~ First Time Fishing on Lake Michigan ~ #minnowuprising #busy

IMG_2334.jpg

It's not every day your old man calls you up and offers you an almost-free, last minute, fishing trip. He had asked me if I had wanted to go a few weeks prior, and I told him it just wasn't in the budget. Luckily for me, someone backed out and myself and family could tag along for a 1/10 of the price. So my dad and his wife, myself, my wife and daughter, all packed in his Lincoln Town Car the next day at 1pm for the 6 hour drive from Minneapolis to Port Washington, Wisconsin.

IMG_2280.jpg

I have always loved fishing. Growing up as kids, my dad would take us up to Canada where the real fish are. Some of my greatest memories with my dad are sitting on a small boat in the middle of no where, casting and reeling, hoping with everything that the big one would bite the hook. We caught our fair share and always had a good time, that's for certain.

IMG_2273.jpg

But I had never been this style of fishing before. Like I said, I'm used to a small fishing boat with an outboard motor and reeling and casting. This style was completely different. There were 18 poles lined up on the both back sides of the boat, and on the back edge. There was no casting and reeling. The lines would be let out to a specific distance, and you would just troll, waiting for a fish to bite. The poles closest to the engines are called down riggers, they sink very deep, like 150 feet or more if you want. The depths and distances of each hook went up the farther the pole was away from the engines. It was a really smart design actually, it allowed you many multiple chances at catching a fish, and also minimized the chances of crossing lines. Although we even managed to do that 2-3 times. The King Salmon would pull your line all over the place and if you couldn't control it, have fun with that birds nest.

IMG_2277.jpg

We stayed from Sunday night to Wednesday noon and we fished from 5 am Monday morning to 5pm. Tuesday was supposed to be rainy so we packed in a full day on Monday. Wednesday morning was downpouring when I woke up at 4 am so I stayed back with the family. I didn't feel so hot on my first go around on the choppy waters anyway. I'm lucky I didn't puke, even though I came close a few times.

IMG_2283.JPG

The fishing was for sure fun, but spending time in an unknown city, exploring and being with my family was the best part. We walked to some of the historic places in town and my wife's family from Chicago even made the drive up to hang out with us for the day on Tuesday. I have more pictures and stories to tell, but I'll save them for another post.

IMG_2351.jpg

If you ever have the opportunity to check out Port Washington, I would recommend it. Small town vibe, nice people, on the water (obviously), beautiful scenery and some really cool history. Hope you enjoyed my little tour, Steem on.

IMG_2288.jpg

Sort:  

MSP to Port Washington in six hours? You must have been cruising! Sounds like a fun time. How's the salmon? I'm originally from Alaska, found that WI salmon is more often than not... disappointing. Maybe that's just because chances are it's not fresh?

Yeah, left at one, got there at 7. My dad set the cruise about 10 over and we made a few pit stops, seeing as we had my pregnant wife and 15 month old daughter with us.

I liked the Salmon. Couldn't have eaten it any fresher ;) Do you mean when you buy it somewhere?

I would love to do some Alaskan fishing. My brothers good buddy is up there right now, and they are making a haul.

36844527_10102927718221650_2642384255547604992_n.jpg
This is near Seward.

Yep - I don't fish, myself, so my salmon consumption is reliant on grocery stores, restaurants, and generous friends. ^_^ So I misspoke: I mean salmon purchased here, not caught here.

It does look like a great time! I enjoyed the read.

Looks like y'all had a great time!

We sure did! It was a great experience, but I will probably stick to small lake fishing here on out, unless the opportunity for catching Marlins or something presents itself.

Those look like some tasty fish! And your right, that doesnt happen every day, so I hope it was an excellent one. Its been far too long for me. All the best buddy.

It was a fun tip, thanks man, all the best to you too.

Fantastic article, looks like you have done good research

wow enjoy your fish day 😍

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the latest post.