Ulog #1 - Last Minute Road Trip

in #minnowuprising6 years ago

Road Trip!

We got a call from our best friends. They need some help, so we're out!

No Video

I really want to start doing some videos, but I won't be doing one this time. We're windows down, music up kinda road trippers!



1537223265594.jpg


Packed and Prepared

I never leave home with out a plan to take care of myself and get back home in the event of...well, anything.

My "more than a 72 hour bag" with food, fire, shelter, equalizer and clean unders is always the first thing loaded. I was going to do a post about that bag before my hiatus. I'll have to get to that soon. I've also got a case of water, good shoes and a jacket.



1537223303210.jpg


The second most important thing to load up is my geocache bag. You just never know when you'll have a few minutes to kill, and no matter where you are there's a geocache close. I'll do another geocache post soon.

Check out that sweet luggage tag! I won that from @tecnosgirl a few months back.

Roadtrip Play List

Adam and I started dating when I was 15 and he was 16. We've been building our roadtrip playlist since then. What started with a road trip mix tape with Candlebox, Ozzy, Everclear, Boston, Heart, Fuel, and Bad Company has grown to an 8 hour playlist. We've added Breaking Benjamin, Bullet For My Valentine, Red, Volbeat, Avenged Seven Fold, Shine Down....

Here are a few that we always turn up and sing along with...

Everclear - Santamonica

Screenshot_2018-09-17-19-49-33-1.png


Candlebox - Rain

Screenshot_2018-09-17-20-05-01-1.png


Volbeat - So Lonesome I Could Cry

Screenshot_2018-09-17-20-08-48-1.png


Seether - Tonight

Screenshot_2018-09-17-20-31-00-1.png

Lunch?

I didn't have time to eat before we left, so we stopped and grabbed some. Deli bbq chicken paired with Red Bull after a 60 hour week hit the spot.



1537223500621.jpg


Pictures Just Aren't the Same

Especially with a phone camera. We went through the Boston Mountains. I got some pictures, but they don't tell the whole story.



1537223452366.jpg


Check out that grain silo! That's dedication: to detail, to beer, to painting, to a silo. I wish I could've gotten a better picture.

A Trip With a Purpose

I'd use any excuse to see these people, they are our very best friends who had to move about three hours away a year ago. Our families miss each other terribly! But, we had a real purpose for going this time. Their truck broke down and they needed additional brains and hands to get it fixed.

Somehow both my son and their son manages to avoid pictures. But I got all the ladies.



1537225829509.jpg


We only had one night there, so we pulled an all nighter to get the truck fixed and take advantage of our time to talk about the weather and our kids and what the world is coming to.

Most of the night looked like this....



1537230919673.jpg


But at 5:30 am, the truck was running!



1537223727255.jpg


Gotta Go

We had to back by 11:00 am, can't miss the Chiefs game! So we loaded up and headed out. I hadn't slept in 29 hours, so that's what I did all the way home...



1537234882403.jpg


...and more when I got home. All told, I slept for 13 hours!

Well, that's my first ulog. And it only took three days to write! I hope y'all had a good weekend. Only 5 days til the next one!

Sort:  

Road trip!

What was wrong with the truck?

It wasn't getting spark, so they fixed that. Then it ran for a few minutes. Then it wasn't getting gas. Then they fixed that. That's all I know about that.

He probably could've fixed it himself, but then there'd have been no reason for us to be there. 😏

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Glad you all were able to get it fixed and so happy to see you were able to make use of your tag...

I love the tag!

Oh! Someone in line at the library asked me about my notebook!

That is awesome and totally the type of thing I hoped would happen when people use the stuff they win.

wow lovely photos and i love road trips it makes me refreshed :))

Congratulations @powellx5! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @powellx5! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!