My miniature pinscher

in #minpin6 years ago

Does anyone out there have a min pin?
I adopted mine January of 2011. Best drunk decision EVER! He has turned into my very best friend over the years. Not only do I know him, he knows me.

If you read my intro, you’d see that I struggled with alcohol for quite some time. I’m okay at the moment. I’m almost 2 years clean. When things weren’t so great, this dog was there by my side. Through every detox session, random last minute trip to wherever I felt like flying or even just tearing through my own city like nobody’s business. Not only was he with me through some crazy adventures, he was by my side for a few break ups too. Let’s just say, this dog has my back.
And I have his too (I learned that it’s okay to start a sentence with “and”).
Whenever I think he is unwell, I do my part and take him to the vet. I feed him the best food, I take him on walks and car rides and I let him sleep in my bed. I gives him cuddles and I talk to him like he’s a human. After all, he understands me, right?

I have been thinking about him dying lately. Actually a little too much lately. When I think about it, my eyes immediately start to fill up with tears.
What am I going to do when he leaves me? (I’m assuming he will go first) even though it will be hard on me when he goes, I almost want him to leave me because I’m scared that no one will take care of him like I did.
For today, I am grateful that I have him right next to me snoring.AB0E1812-9259-4A4E-9563-B34B3D1E349D.jpegCD6D91F5-7E6A-41B6-84DE-6B2A7620FF9E.jpegE431559D-2C2F-4A76-BDD0-8DA243BCCA5A.jpeg77ED9C94-A74A-4839-BA56-3C9CCD9E9FEC.jpeg

To everyone who lost a faithful furry friend, my heart is definitely with you ❤️

Sort:  

Congratulations @lvlove! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Bind with dogs is damn strong and even stronger when the link is built when you're vulnerable.

During these moments, they seem to fill all your emptyness by their simple contact, as if they were feeling your inner wounds... Rest of the time they only ask for attention and love in return.

Your little guy seems really healthy :)

I've seen my own old pal starting to decline a 3 or 4 years ago...
I decided to adopt another dog while he was still here, thinking that he'd help me in the newcomer's education.
It was a younger female.
Since she's here my old dog has rejuvaneted, 13years old but acting now like a youngster and seems younger than ever :p

Don't think about his death, just go on giving him a nice life and go on having a nice one too. This little guy won't ask for better than that ;)

I love this reply! You know, I’ve been thinking about doing the same. Another dog would nice, especially for him. Even though I rarely leave him alone if ever nowadays but I know they need animal interaction. He doesn’t socialize all that much in the winter and it makes me feel super guilty.
We use to have a “dognasium” here but I guess the lady didn’t do all that great in sales and closed down after 2 years. I use to bring him there all the time.
Hell, if I could, I’d buy that space and turn it back into a dognasium.

I think you are on point with dogs building a deep bond with humans when we are dealing with emotional and physical turmoil. It’s amazing really.

What kind of dog do you have? 13 hey?! He’s still got a little way to go! It’s seriously awesome to hear that the new pup brought out the spunk again in your other dog! That seriously makes me smile!!
I am SUCH a dog person that it actually makes me tear up with joy LOL

My own ones are mixed-race (not sure what's the english term). Hunting dog typed, which, I find, get often very easily connected to human.

When adopting, I seek in animal protection"s refuges where empathy works at its full portential from both sides of the cage's grid and help feeling quickly if that precious link with the animal is here or not :)