That scary first post and overcoming the horror of the blank text field on a new platform...

Hello World!

22181348_10154898183616787_9147100326242501532_o.jpg

For a first post, I was going to write to ask questions about whether there was any support for languages other than English, on Steemit, but I had the good sense to custom search first and was delighted after I tried typing some other popular languages into the search field: Spanish and French, turned up some hits. Emboldened by this, I decided to try Igbo, (my native language) and there were some hits too. I found this surprising. I followed some of the links and found that some Igbo people were around and already creating content here. I thought to myself – Grand! So, I am at ease now and will explore a bit. I didn't quite see any content in Igbo, as such. I was gladdened nonetheless as it seems it had crossed the minds of other users.

So, thank you Steemit for affording ‘us’ another throw of the ‘social media interaction dice’ and thank you ndi Igbo for ‘early’ adoption of a new way of ‘doing social media’.

About myself


I am a dynamic sort of man, living in London while working at jobs to pay bills but I am also exploring alternative lifestyles and earning modes or earning opportunities. I suppose the way earning works is by value being rewarded. So if you create value and/or create value for long enough, it gets rewarded. So I am here and I hope to add value consistently. What else can I say about myself, I am a father and I also have Facebook and Twitter handles, but they are probably not important enough to provide here.

I followed an article written by James Corbett of The Corbett Report and that was my introduction to Steemit or my invitation to steem (to put this another way). I think it is important to record what (and how) my introduction to this promising platform was (no patronage). I am even more fascinated to learn that the rewards system here runs on ‘blockchain technology’ … but what is this thing about the Streemian service, shutting down? I don’t quite get it. Might someone with a bit more knowledge explain please?

Thanks for reading about me. I really do wish you well. But, how that can be when I have not really met you yet is (well, curious_ … ). Yes! That. [Add a winking emoji here] ...

NB: Hey, the Markdown Styling Guide, says typing a colon will give me the power to select an emoji but that didn't happen. Must be missing something.

:-)

Sort:  

I don’t know about shutting down, but welcome!

Thank you for the comment ... let me try finding you a link [ About 'shutting down' ... that is ... :-) ... ]

Here's that link (https://streemian.com/) I was telling you about and at the very top of the masts here, unless it has been removed, you have the same story.