LG V50 ThinQ -- update (2019/07/01 - V11d) -- changelog & comments

in #mobile5 years ago

 <intro>:

Sorry again for not being able to post as I wanted, here's some post if you haven't already:

https://steemit.com/technology/@theexperimentor/alright-here-s-lot-of-updates-to-cover


OK, so...

well, it's that time for another update on LG V50...


 -----

<synopsis / Korean>:


(yes, the log is still in Korean, but you folks may have this in English depending on the region!)



(source): https://www.lge.co.kr/lgekor/contents/mobile/swUpgradeDetail.do?swSeq=1119


- 통화 및 데이터 연결 품질이 향상되었습니다.

- 특정 사용환경에서 발열 현상이 완화되도록 수정되었습니다.

- 5G 네트워크 연결 시 배터리를 많이 소모하지 않도록 개선되었습니다.

- 특정 USB C 타입 케이블 제거 시 충전표시가 사라지지 않는 오류 현상이 개선되었습니다.

- 음질 및 음향 효과 > 이퀄라이저 설정에 스피커 효과가 추가되었습니다.

- 스트리밍 음악 재생 중 볼륨 조절을 하면 잡음이 발생하는 현상이 개선되었습니다.

- Apple AirPods 무선 이어폰과의 Bluetooth 호환성이 개선되었습니다.

- 듀얼 키보드 사용성이 개선되었습니다.


 -----

<changelog / English>:

(now here's what it means, in English! :) ) 

  1. Improved quality of calls and connection to data network.
  2. Fixed to alleviate heating issue under certain circumstances.
  3. Improved battery usage to not use much when connected to 5G.
  4. Fixed the issue where charging indication would not disappear after disconnecting certain USB C type cables.
  5. Added 'Speaker' preset under 'Sound quality and effects' > 'Equalizer'.
  6. Fixed the issue where noise could be made when controlling the volume while playing streamed music.
  7. Improved Bluetooth compatibility with  Apple AirPods wireless earphones.
  8. Improved usability of Dual Keyboard.

------

 <comments>:

(I'm not going to run through every entry like last time, so I'll only highlight some of them):


① ~  ③ : Now, as these would keep appearing across every updates on V50 so far, I now even question if these entries are really happening....


⑤ : Look at this screenshot...

This is what you'll get.

Notice everything else is the same except for 2 bands for mids?

I'm not sure why it's set like that....


I did try that myself before, but... honestly... I still don't know. Not impressed at all.

Doesn't really even make me 'feel' improvements...

DTS:X on/off didn't matter... really....


⑧ : At first, I had no clue with 'usability' part... since LGE would not sometimes reveal what the updates are for! (like the ones from App updates within LG phones... most of the times.)

But when I tried to write another Steemit post for this blog with my LG V50 (and of course with Dual Screen)...

I realized... Dual Keyboard (which is like full screen keyboard for use in landscape mode. Don't worry -- I will explain this in future LG V50 posts!) would automatically launch to the other screen without me having to do it myself, after I launched it for first time (starting with 2nd attempt)... woah.


So... I guess that 'usability' improvements include this, at least?


Well, but still not the most satisfactory experience, yet.

I hope LGE would reduce the delay in launching it, and make some way (like LG Game Pad -- fullscreen virtual gamepad -- also going to explain in future LG V50 posts!) to force this to launch (at any time) and keep it until I manually close Dual Keyboard myself, not closing every time when keyboard input wouldn't happen. Please... (along with ability to customize LG Game Pad)... LGE... make these happen!!!


-----

<updates on Dual Screen> :


Not only there was update for LG V50 itself, but also Dual Screen itself got its own update too!



Even though there isn't explicit version number anywhere to be found (at least to myself), I think this update is still worth mentioning.

As you can see, this will make Dual Screen turn off a bit in the process, but be patient, this won't take more than minutes, lol!



-----

(BTW...)

Surprisingly no issues so far after using the replacement Dual Screen, but I can't be sure yet.

I am still waiting for response from LGE for the test results.

Wish I could get repairs to my main phone, if replacement is not gonna be made, but we'll see.

I'll keep you updated! 👍