Mojave National Preserve-Photos

in #mojavenationalpreserve7 years ago (edited)

My Wife and I enjoy spending the month of February in Arizona. It is a nice mid-winter respite from the cold, fog and rain of California's central valley. Traveling alone this year (2017) on the way, I decided to overnight at the Mojave National Preserve.

Run by the National Park Service, the Mojave National Preserve is located between I-40 and I-15 Between Barstow and Needles California. Traveling east on I-40 exiting at Kel-Baker Road and going north towards Baker, one will find it. There is no admission fee and free dry camping at a number of locations. There are a number of gems in the preserve including the dunes, and a perfectly preserved train station at Kelso. Kelso Station used to have an operating lunch counter, but this year it was not serving as the contracted proprieter had retired. There are active railroad tracks passing Kelso Station, but the trains no longer stop. The dunes have primitive camping spots and are easy in and out pulling a travel trailer (2wd). There are other camping areas that I have not explored. NPS maps are available at Kelso Station.

Here are my favorite photos:

mojave_preserve_sign.jpg

roadcenter.jpg

kelso_sign.jpg

kelso_station.jpg

lunch_room_sign.jpg

kelso_station_front_bw.jpg

arches_shadows.jpg

The dunes feature free dry camping, near isolation and dramatic scenery.
dramatic_dunes_II.jpg

dramatic_dune.jpg

kelso_dunes.jpg

fence_jack.jpg

wilderness_boundry.jpg

wilderness_boundry_rev.jpg

Sort:  

Nice

I upvoted and followed you, kindly do the same. @nuelapex

Thank you! Still learning here, to upvote you do I upvote the comment?