Monday Mixtape 3/19

in #mondaymixtape6 years ago

IMG_5098.GIF

Monday mixtape is a new tag created by @hardikv that I discovered through one of my favorite poets @carmalain7. I thought it was a great idea to share music that I have been listening to over the course of the week and some of my thoughts surrounding it.

I listen to a lot of different music, but tend to focus on more pop and alternative rock. I prefer songs that lean more melodic, and also really like poetic lyrics.

1. Tom Walker- Leave a Light On

If you look into the distance, there's a house upon the hill
Guidin' like a lighthouse, it's a place where you'll be
Safe to feel our grace and if you've lost your way
If you've lost your way…
I will leave the light on

I loooooove this song. It's super powerful, and I feel like it means a lot- about accepting people for who they are, and welcoming them back after they have lost their way.

2. Judah and the Lion- Take it All Back

Hey, my life is real great, feel I'm well on my way to my dreams coming true and I'm getting to do with you

This is my favorite song by this band. The beat is very catchy, and I think it's an interesting take on the "getting rich, leaving everyone behind" theme that some (mostly rappers) artists tend to do.

3. Cinematic Orchestra- To Build a Home

Out in the garden where we planted the seeds
There is a tree as old as me
Branches were sewn by the color of green
Ground had arose and passed its knees

This song is so positively gorgeous. It's from the "This is Us" soundtrack, which is a show that I recommend as well- the storytelling is amazing, and it constantly makes me cry (which is my selling point, but maybe that's not everyone's cup of tea).

4. Chord Overstreet- Hold on

Long endless highway, you're silent beside me
Driving a nightmare I can't escape from
Helplessly praying, the light isn't fading
Hiding the shock and the chill in my bones

This is also from the "This is Us" soundtrack, from an extremely climatic episode (that I refuse to ruin for anyone). Hearing this song, after associating it with that moment, brought tears to my eyes, too. The longing is just palpable.

5. James Arthur- Say You Won't Let Go

Then you smiled over your shoulder
For a minute, I was stone-cold sober
I pulled you closer to my chest
And you asked me to stay over
I said, I already told ya
I think that you should get some rest

This verse gets stuck in my head on repeat when I am happy. I love the lovey dovey-ness of it, yet it doesn't feel cheesy at all. Probably one of my favorite love songs of all time.


IMG_3826 (2).JPG
Title Image sourced from Unsplash
Pullquotes sourced from the lyrics of their respective songs
Reflections are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

You have a very defined sound that you enjoy, Sun, and it definitely makes this list actually listen like a mixtape (something mine most assuredly do not, haha).

Enjoyed learning about some singer-songwriters that, because I rarely venture into this sound, were new and refreshing!

Really enjoyed the music video shooting and animation style on Judah and the Lion's video! cool share ^_^

Thank you for checking it out! I get into music modes where I create a playlist and listen to it ovvvver and over until I get sick of the songs on it. I have been listening to these for about a month and aren't sick of them yet!