You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Get Ready for a World Currency

in #money7 years ago

Extremely well researched post. I reckon the average Steemit user doesn't have the attention span to read it all through, maybe make a series of multiple posts next time.
Great work though! Have you shared this post on any other social media platforms? You ought to.

Sort:  

I will probably share it on my Medium (but I loath having to reformat it for Medium’s editor, probably just insert a link).

I am thinking Steem might be more of a mobile phone reading audience, so the long (and 2 column) format probably does not work for many readers.

And yeah I agree I am going to suffer with the soundbite Twitter generation. Happy to see some younger dudes reading it as this is your future we are talking about.

You're preaching to the choir 😊

The more expedient and effective action may be to get more of the world using a decentralized cryptocurrency and blockchain.

Unique features can help. For example, I have this idea about having forked Reddit-style discussions such as these display as multiple columns (forks) on wide displays. Do something unique that beats Reddit. I have lots of ideas.

I think the Steem model of funding users by earning from upvoting is not the best model because it motivates users to think about ways to get upvotes instead of building a following of interested readers. It seems to motivate writing blogs to do volunteerism to take money from the collective and award it to some group and other topics that otherwise no one would read. Steem’s model is just like the corruption of democracy, motivating groups to find ways to redistribute money and talk about all the good they are doing. Politicians always pander to doing good, but in reality they are just promoting stealing and not hard work.

I want to promote the talents of people and their hard work. Only a small percentage of the people are willing to work hard to develop their talents. So most users are just followers. Yet even if only 1% of the people want to work hard, that is still 60 million people in the world. Hopefully we can get 10% of the people motivated to work hard on developing their talents.

Do you know where we can read about the features currently under development by steemit developers?
I agree that Steemit leaves a lot to be desired.

I don’t know. Try asking @ned or @smooth perhaps?

The distribution problem is always about how to incentivize what we want without enabling gaming it by bots and/or users. It is either not an easy problem to solve, or it might be impossible to solve.

Thanks I just bookmarked both of them in my Steemit folder.

I had an idea today about how users can incentivize people to create constructive comments. Curious to get your feedback on that post if you have the time.