You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I Learned in the Zeitgeist Movement | Part 3: "Debt-Machine"

in #money6 years ago

I never really fully grasped this concept until I watched the movie ETHOS narrated by Woody Harrelson. I understood the concept of fractional reserve banking but not at the level I do now. It has been one of the things I can easily work into a conversation that I am not met with rolling eyes and shaking heads as is common with some of my other "Conspiratorial" views. I guess talking about the full-on lunacy and the completely criminal concept that was set up in this country in the early 1900's is easier for people to believe and accept than some of my other knowledge of what the people that rule over us inundate us with on a daily basis.

What is hard to do is convince people to live within their means. And, to their defense, I understand because at least in this country it is difficult to live outside this system of debt. But if you don't agree with something than you have to find a way to not play into it. Sadly so many are already caught up in it at a level that it would take them the rest of their lives to be free from it.

All someone like that can do is make the choice to pay down their debt and choose to live in a way that meets their needs and is patient for the things that they want. Sometimes when we are patient in the things we want they either come to us in different ways or even better the concept of being patient leads us down the path of re-evaluating what it is that we want; what is really important to our life.

I am convinced that the greatest things in life are free. Life itself is free and precious beyond measure and perhaps we have the ability to fractionally reserve our lives by giving out more goodness than we take in. I can sit back and imagine a world where everyone does that or I can choose simply to live that way everyday and hope it catches on. Sorry if this concept seems a bit vague and I promise one day I am going to sit down and write a blog on the attitude of giving; so much more than a financially minded sense of giving.

Sort:  

No need to apologize, I see your point completely. I have experienced what it's like and it's true. The best things in life are free, and there is always another way to them than the classic path.
I find it important to take little steps towards less and less dependence on the system. And that does take time. I figure: Better a long runup full of detours, than a short runup with no solid backing for arriving... hmmm... hard to put into words right now ;)

Really excited for your post, I feel a lot of people will learn a lot from your inishgt and experience.
Much love