You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Steem, Bitcoin, etc.. Obvious Pre-cursors to The Mark of the Beast?

in #money8 years ago (edited)

Frankly even though I found the article interesting I don't understand the point in this, if the Bible is true then nothing you or anyone else does will change what is going to happen, it is all part of God's plan, right? So why worry about it? If digital currency are the mark of the beast then that is what they are and the only thing you can do is not use them based on your perception of what the bible says. I for my part don't believe in the bible coming from God, I mean why does God have to write a book, he could have just as easily implanted all of this knowledge in your brain and all would be good. Please don't take this the wrong way, I am only giving you my opinion which disagrees with yours, up voted you as I do think it is a fairly good article.

Sort:  

God used the writings of eyewitnesses who He personally instructed over 3.5 years so that there would be just the right amount of evidence for His children to believe but not enough evidence for those who would rather rebel and rule themselves. That's a fine line which offers men two paths - a wide one that leads the many away into darkness and a narrow one that leads a few into light. Jesus said, "Many are called but few are chosen." So we should not expect any alternative solution we can think of that would guarantee that all would believe.

As to whether knowing this in advance will make any difference, I think it will make ALL the difference! Here are a few obvious benefits I can think of. I'm sure there are many more:

  • If you know about this in advance, you can make other preparations to deal with the fact that you can't legally buy and sell. You can store food, learn to garden, hold crypto currencies or precious metals, team up in self-sufficient communities, etc. (Basically, be a prepper.)

  • If you do this, you won't be in the tight spot of choosing between faithfulness and death. Therefore, you will be less likely to fall away and lose your salvation.

  • Knowing this in advance, when the time comes you can point it out to others and perhaps save some of them. Nothing sharpens the mind like seeing prophecy unfold in real time.

Jesus put it this way, "Because of the multiplication of wickedness, the love of most will grow cold. But the one who perseveres to the end will be saved."

This is why the opening lines in the Book of Revelation say this: "Blessed is the one who reads aloud the words of this prophecy, and blessed are those who hear it and take to heart what is written in it, because the time is near."

Great point that there's nothing that can be done to change what is going to happen (if true, I get you). My point with the article is exactly as I began - responding to what a local Christian said (and I know already that his view will be echoed by many. Bitcoin is easy enough to ignore as it's off in personal finance land, but Steemt will soon be quite public, and I see many Christians already taking to it. It's going to be a "hot topic" so to speak, and I wanted to set that down for the record) I'm glad you liked the article, and no offense taken whatsoever, I appreciate your input. I love that people of different worldviews can have such civil and beneficial exchange of ideas via Steemit.
As for "why did..." I agree with you that God "could have" implanted knowledge, God "could have" written a book, He could have remained silent. There's an infinite number of choices from our perspective making speculation futile however. It boils down to what did God choose to do? Way oversimplifying the topic, I believe He chose to write a book. Other possibilities require the act of thinking we can understand God or put ourselves in His place somehow - "Oh, well if I were God, I would've done it this way....." which doesn't work because I'm not.
And thank you so much for the upvote too @gduran , as I know they are precious to us all these days!