Sort:  

I have never hired management in 15 years of having tenants, 95 percent of millionaires go rich off real estate. It's a nice pay check even if you have to fix heating and toilets time to time :) Hand pick your own tenants like I do, I"m very happy with it, Beats a regular job all day long :)

...to Colorado. We're pretty much equidistant to everything

As long as you can sell it with profit. Otherwise it's a no go.

There was a time when having rentals was more reward than risk. You only have to see people once a month unless a major repair was needed and you could pay off a mortgage property with very little head or back ache. Those days are pretty much gone. I would be terrified every time I had to bring a new tenant in. No thank you.

Nothing to fear but fear itself, I bought homes for 90 percent off in 2009 crash, paid cash and I"m on slate to do it again with the next crash. Pick tenants that need you more than you need them. I talk about that on my page RE, real estate niches. True freedom is being in real estate, it's where millionaires are made. HANG IN THERE,,,,,,, join me in the journey