Sort:  

Thanks so much for reading my article 😊 You hit the nail on the head!! 💯
I live in South Africa - a heavily mined country and we've had numerous miner deaths, environmental degradation and water pollution because of it. Indirectly it harms animals but directly it harms many living beings. Hence I don't think its strictly vegan - it's a grey area for me and I've still yet to make up my mind about it.

Ah, I see. It would be interesting to find out whether this goes for all gold mined. For example in Wales they mine rose gold; would this be a country with better ethics when it comes to miners, I wonder? Really, in this day and age you'd think we'd have better systems in place for the safety of all lives, but when many people are still treated as expendable what hope is there for the treatment of environment and wildlife?