You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Market Can Stay Irrational Longer Than You Can Stay Solvent

in #money7 years ago

I took 1/2 a million off the market and invested some in gold and silver 1 year ago. I took a freaking beating. I have only lost 20k thus far but I know if I stayed I could have made a lot more.
I am finding it very difficult now to decide what to do. I will eventually do something as the worse thing is doing nothing.
Can you elaborate what you are doing with your money.

Sort:  

Honestly, the past few years my money has gone into acquiring rental properties and crypto. I've also made a couple small business investments. Very little has gone into equities. All though, when the time comes I do plan to short the US stock market.

P.S. - sitting in cash sometimes is not the worst play. If you do not want to be long the stock market but gold/silver is not performing. Sitting in cash ready for the next opportunity isn't a bad thing.

When do you see the next big correction in the US stock market?

This is the reason why smart investors always keep some cash on the sidelines. You can not be completely leveraged 100%, just in case an opportunity does comes up.....Then you act like a scaredycat and POUNCE! lol

Lol, nice. Yeah I know some investors that are already getting to cash for the next housing correction. Which is probably at least a couple years away since we have even stopped going up yet...lol.

As for the stock market, last year I thought it would be this summer. Clearly I'm still early. At this point my opinion is when we get the first big crack.

Everything happens in waves, we never go straight down, so I'm waiting for that first big down move and then that first big bounce. Then I will pounce and get short for the next leg down. That opportunity was there in the last two recessions.