Why I Turned Down a 100k Job at 18

in #money5 years ago (edited)

7 (6)-min.png

Bad job? No, Too far away? Nope, A better offer? Not quite

Frankly the reason lies in the value of time. Sure, I could take the role and enjoy a comfortable $2500 a week from work alone.
Deputy Prime Minister, Michael McCormackDeputy Prime Minister, Michael McCormack
Me with Deputy PM, Michael McCormack

But the downfall quickly becomes apparent if you are a person who desires efficiency. Let's start by pointing out the main issue, a lack of potential growth. Sure, I could work my way up over time and end up on 150k or more, but this takes, you guessed it time. I am confident I can make my time more valuable and thus taking the job is simply selling myself short. Moreover, there is a ceiling with almost all jobs regarding how much you can make and this limits your earning potential.

Next, it means a lot less free time and flexibility. Working full-time results in less time being available to do things that can make you money for a long time (passive income) as well as reducing your flexibility which is important when looking for new opportunities to expand your wealth or life in general. You become locked down.

This leads me onto my next point, this and the routine of it all would simply drive me crazy. As someone with the entrepreneur mindset, I need the ability to be flexible, always grow and to decide what I do on my own terms. The idea of it alone frustrates me.

If you have any questions or would like more articles like this feel free to comment below!

*This post has gained a lot of attention recently and I would like to point out, I am not saying do not work, I am simply saying a FT job may not be best for you if you can afford to work part-time or casual and work on your own projects in your free time as I do.

Read how I make money other ways here: https://www.aussiemoneyman.com.au/home/how-to-make-hundreds-more-per-week

Summary:

-Places a limit on the value of your time
-Lack of time to create things that will create income for years (passive income)
-It limits your opportunitys
-A FT job can be unhealthy for someone with the entrepreneur mindset!