The Silver Bug, Have You Caught It Yet?

in #money7 years ago (edited)

About 7 years ago my husband was given a silver quarter back as change from a vending machine. He noticed it was different than the quarters we usually get (thinking it was fake) and looked up the year to find out it was made out of silver and was worth more than $.25

This gave him the silver bug and got him started on looking into silver, he started looking into the history, markets, value and potential value. He quickly became convinced that it was something we needed to start investing in. I think silver was around $35-$45/oz when he started buying. We looked for some cheap ways to get silver and tried getting $100 worth of quarters and dimes from the bank. We searched through it all with no luck, and that was the only time we tried that! It was so time consuming. Had we found one silver coin, I am sure we would of done it again.

My oldest son (Logan) found a silver dime while outside playing a few years ago, so I took the metal detector where he found it, and we found another! (this was in Iowa under an old bush). That gave Logan the silver bug and he had to start collecting it too.

My two oldest boys (ages 9 and 8) probably have about $400 combined in silver with only 2 years of investing. My husband is pretty happy about that. Instead of buying Pokemon cards, baseball cards or toys that get played with about 3 times, they are wanting to buy silver coins. They ask for silver for their birthdays and Christmas or for money (from family that knows nothing about silver) so they can buy their own. They are working on collecting the Lunar series right now and even have some coins that my husband doesn't have yet.

My 8 year old (Chase) did a science fair project last year on silver. He learned about the history of it (all the way back to Egyptians), how it was mined, smelted and all the different uses of silver. I think we both learned a lot and he was happy to get raw silver to display and add to his collection.

13055578_10154259170698586_737850095695006704_n.jpg

I have 3 more boys that I am sure once they get older will catch the silver bug as well, and I can't wait to see their "ah-ha" moment where they realize the value and feel the need to start collecting. Have you caught the silver bug? If so, how did you catch it?

P.S. I will try to add some pictures soon. My internet is running slow and I am having a hard time finding them right now.

Sort:  

Congratulations @racheal737! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!