Book Review: The Next Big Investment Boom

in #money6 years ago

I wouldn't take it literally

The Next Big Investment Boom is for people who are really into investing and enjoy reading about it. This is not a book for beginners. If you are starting out check out the titles on our Further Reading page.

I enjoyed this book, found it well-written, and was challenged by the content. Mark Shipman was writing in 2006 and predicted a commodities boom based on scarcity.

Looking back from 2016, the opposite seems to be happening now with the collapse in Chinese demand and the fall in the oil price.

However, the interesting thing about the book is not the specific recommendations, but rather the thought processes revealed by the author. He makes a strong case for momentum based investing and managed to get me to think about it despite my initial reluctance.

The Next Big Investment Boom is a strange book. Part history of investing, part technical analysis manual, part introduction to commodities, it is an interesting read but not an essential one.

Consider picking this up if you have already read everything in your investing library.

This post first ran on RetireJapan in October 2016

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://www.retirejapan.info/blog/review-the-next-big-investment-boom