Thrifting Electronics 7-22-2018

in #money6 years ago

Sold that APC UPS that we picked up a few days ago for total profit of $27.08.

Probably bad because I took a little bit long to find a box and pack it up today, so while it's okay it's a lot more effort to get larger items.

I really need to find a more time efficient way to list and sell products. I'm debating buying one of those bulk boxes of electronics that are returns. An unboxing would probably make a good youtube/dtube video, but I'm not sure I'd be that exciting to people, unless the kids are getting in on the unboxing. However, at this point it's probably too much of a % risk compared to the bankroll as most of these would be $100-$300. When I used to play poker, generally you would only sit with 1 or 2% of your total bankroll, to avoid going on a terrible losing streak and not being able to play(or be frustrated, make bad decisions, and/or take stupid risks to "get it all back")

With the Return on investment that I have been doing so far on the self sourced thrifts, it could probably use 5% of my total bankroll, so we'd need like $6,000 to take a reasonable risk at $300 boxes. Granted, the boxes are a bit more known when you buy them on some sites, so probably can do it sooner than $6,000. Bulq.com, etc where it lists the manifest of the items.

Bankroll: 668.49 + 27.08 = 695.57