Over the $1,000 profit for the year: Thrifting Electronics 8-16-2018

in #money6 years ago

Made 5.60 selling the game Mass Effect Andromeda for PC (was in for $0 as this was from the pile my friend sent me to sell)

Got a return request from someone off of amazon, I had shipped out a VCR and it wasn't working for them once it arrived, unfortunately this was the bad shipping costs from the delivery to alaska. :( -44.98 (shipping/item cost)

Question how much do you re sellers set aside for dealing with returns? I know it probably depends on the items your selling and the market, but what's a good %? I'd suspect you'd base it on the average item price.

Sold an HP 11c that I got for $3.57 as part of the $40 facebook 8 calculator haul, it went for $129.99+shipping. 120.40
81tGsJK9gPL._SL1500_.jpg

Picked up another rockband/guitar hero controller, a sunburst stratocaster. Not real unfortunately, but it should be in the $40-$50 gross range

Bankroll 952.92 + 5.60 -44.98+120.40-3.25 = $1033.94

This has no monetary value currently as no taxes have been paid and it's $1k going on $2k! The second $1k will go much faster as I know what to look for now a lot more than when I started..

Sort:  

Keep stacking that cash.

Returns/refunds suck! Only thing you can do is not spend that money until the return/refund window has shut. How I deal with the costs is just keep selling so that it becomes such a minor expense.

Returns are what they are not good or bad, just part of doing the game. I guess that's quite the stoic view. Guess I've been reading too much of The Daily Stoic by Ryan Holiday.

Cool that you have broken the $1000 mark. Hopefully not that you are picking up momentum, the 2K will come soon. Keep it going. I love to see your successes.

What I've heard said is that money attracts money, let's see how true that is. I think that is referenced in the book Think and Grow Right by Napoleon Hill. Not sure where that statement is originally from.