Sort:  

I would have jumped on the silver like a hobo on a ham sandwich. That guy looked like he had a firm grip on that silver bar.

People are so uneducated.

I remember watching this and scratching my head.
Silver its a precious metal... even if it were 10 ounces of copper, it would have been worth more than a buck worth of chocolate.
I'm blown away that no one knows the values of real money too.

I would not have to think twice. Silver it is!

Unfortunately immediate gratification often beats out delayed gratification.

I just think some (most?) people don't understand anything about silver or gold. I showed a 1 oz gold eagle to a friend and asked what he thought it was worth. He said something like this; "What is that? Gold? hmm..maybe 50$?"

The I said..c´mon man..it's pure gold. 100% pure gold. 24 karat. He didn't even know what that meant. He had a gold wedding ring, so I asked him - how much did you pay for that? 1000$.

Then I explained to him that that gold ring was probably less than 0.3oz (less than 10 grammes) and that it was probably watered out with other cheaper metals (15-20 karat). So you paid 1000$ for something like 0.15 oz of gold. You were OK with that.

Unconsciously, people "know" somewhere that gold is precious. That's why they buy golden rings when they marry etc. But he didn't seem to be able to convert that into "well, here is a 1OZ (31,3 grammes) of PURE gold. Somehow, THAT was not very valuable to him.

When I told him it was worth about 1300$ his jaw dropped. But when I explained why he grasped it.

This is a very interesting phenomena. People are often so brainwashed or dumbed down by the educational system that they don't consider logical ideas. They just act on impulse. Because he had no problems understanding it when I explained it.

Same goes for other things. Like taxation. A lot of well functioning adults (they function on automatics..they don't really think, just react) can't even conceive the concept of taxation. They believe that the State just HAS money. They have not thought about the very easily understandable and obvious reason why governments have money. YOU give them money (or rather, they TAKE your money)

I actually have had to explain this to grown up adults with an IQ over 100 who have jobs with responsibilities. That amazes me, and is very interesting.

I've explained this too, and the first response is "so how would I sell it?"
Their first instinct is to try to get Fiat Currency for it.

Seen this a bunch of times, seen him do it with other things as well. It's unreal that people are so clueless. I mean i think i would have known that the bar is a better deal before i started stacking and knew anything about silver/gold. Great share

Thanks captain!

It seems that most people are idiots! And they are still able to vote roflmfao...

Yup. Democracy is demon-crazy 🤔

Wow. I've never seen that clip. That's a sobering reminder of a guy I used to be years ago.

This post received a 1.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @scandinavianlife! For more information, click here!

This post has received a 6.10 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @scandinavianlife.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 3.03 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @scandinavianlife. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

Does Steemit know people would rather have emoji than STEEM?

emoji's are free, steem is not.

I remember this. Classic!