Get Your Hustle On #1

in #money6 years ago

This is the first post I'm going to do in a series documenting how I am starting a little business. As some of you may know, I keep my fingers in many businesses, and enjoy learning as much as I can about making money. I also have a hard time passing up a deal or a chance to make money, which leads me here.

TODAY'S NEWS: I bought a BACKHOE!

20171216_141609.jpg

If you don't know what a backhoe is, I'm sure you've seen them doing road work or on construction sites. It is an extremely versatile tractor with a front loader bucket and rear excavating "hoe" mounted on a tractor with a large diesel engine and plenty of weight to handle large dirt-moving operations, but you can do so much more than dig!

While I wanted a four wheel drive model, I couldn't pass up this deal at half of what I thought this machine should sell for. Anyone with a large amount of property can find a use for a backhoe. As a plus, the business uses of it are endless! I plan to start demolition, pushing snow, digging pools, foundations, ditches, roads, and removing stumps to name just a few ideas!

About the machine:
The good first, she cranks right up, cold or warm. Everything works, except the brakes! More on that in a few. I was able to operate every other function of it, except the right rear outrigger. Outriggers are steel legs that push down into the ground to add extra stability when using the rear hoe, to keep the hoe from pushing the machine around while you're using it. Sort of like staking a tent down so the wind doesn't blow it away. The right rear outrigger has a blown hydraulic hose, a quick $30 fix.

20171216_141735.jpg

Notice how tall the plants are, I need a shovel and lawnmower to clean out the cab!

Here's the bad, No brakes, no console, one bad hose, every hydraulic cylinder leaks, and SHE'S UGLY! (needs paint)

20171217_134607.jpg
A little paint will go a long way

No brake pedals or emergency brake. Probably not too good for running a business. I can maneuver it pretty well just shifting into neutral quickly, or in an emergency into reverse. Because of the hydraulic transmission, it doesn't damage it at all to shift into reverse while rolling forward. I will have the brakes fixed before I start operating as a real business. Until then, it works pretty well around my little farm by just shifting gears.
The busted hose should be pretty quick and easy to fix, unbolt the fittings and replace it with a similar one from the local hydraulic supply store.

20171216_141643.jpg
A cylinder that needs to be repaired

The cylinders take about an hour to repair, and the kit for each one costs around $70. I believe theres about 10 cylinders that need to be repaired, so thats about $700. However, every backhoe I've ever seen has a few leaky cylinders. If it leaks one gallon per month, and a gallon of hydraulic fluid is $8, does it really justify $70 to repair the cylinder? With so many leaks though, I need to repair a few.

;ajdgh;osdf.jpg

The jumble of wires is because it's missing the console! (Think dashboard) Everything is there, just hanging. the key ignition, headlight switch, toggle switches, you just have to dig through the jumble of wires to find what you need! I plan to cut a simple piece of steel and install everything flat in it. It doesn't have to be very pretty, just clean and functional.

As far as the ugliness goes, I can live with that. as long as it's functional, it's made to be dirty and rough. But I may sand some spots and give it a quick paint job when the weather warms up.

Here's a picture after I pressure washed it

20171217_134548.jpg

That's it for now. Next post I will mention the tractor and attachement's with the deal.

Estimated repairs needed are to rebuild 10 cylinders, ($70 each), one hydraulic line ($50), brakes which I'm suspecting is the master cylinder ($110) and a dash (personal labor)

Estimated further investment needed: $860 ( I never include my own labor, unless I really DON'T want to do something)

The backhoe costed me $3500
I paid a friend $100 to haul it for me.

TOTAL COST SO FAR: $3,600
ESTIMATED VALUE SO FAR: $8,000 (According to comparable equipment in similar condition for sale in classifieds)

Be on the lookout for my next post in this series!

Sort:  

That's a pretty good deal.. I can see why you bought it.. hope you have tons of success

Thanks! Stay tuned for further updates :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sether to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

You have received 0.01 upvote and resteem from @jossylink

May Peace, Love, Awaken and Awareness be your guide.

Resteem your post at Steem/SBD 0.03

Resteem by @jossylink

Fellow @jossylink and send steem/sbd 0.03 with your post url as memo

Your post has been Resteemed.Enjoy free Resteem

I already resteemed this post @sether!
So I only upvote & followed you.
For FREE resteem, upvote and follow, visit me here.

thanks

You're welcome!

Hello my name is @eduardoff, I am new to this channel, I invite you to follow me in this community and generate a good friendship, see you soon