Learn How This RedNeck Went From Being Sicked & Getting Fired From His Job To Top 10 Super Affiliate-Part 2

in #money8 years ago (edited)

4. Often friends and family don't "get" this whole online marketing thing and I know you have a wife and kids. How do yours feel about it and how did they react when you first told them your plans?

My wife was very supportive.

My children are 9 and 6 so they are cool with me getting to be home more.

They don’t always understand, daddy has to record videos and write emails on the computer today.

Generally, if they see me they feel like I’m available. It works because my wife helps me.

That being said man, I have to divide my time.

You know, when you work for yourself there is always something else you COULD be doing. You have to shut it off and go to bed, or shut it off and play with your kids, or shut it off and take your family to the movies man.

I actually gave myself hours so that I know there is a time to be working and a time to leave it alone.

People respect you more if you speak with certainty and confidence about what you plan to do. To this I hold true.

Most of my family though, they do not understand what I do for money.

There is a stigma that goes along with making money on the internet.

My father was a construction worker and so was his father before him and on back. I come from a long line of construction and factory workers. What I do is very different than that.

I come from generational poverty so the idea of me sending an email and making 300 bucks on that, or launching an information product and making a 1,000 bucks in less than 15 minutes is not fathomable to most people around me.

They feel like I am cheating people out of money or not really working a real job.

You go into this online world and you’re like someone people respect and ask for help.

You leave the online world and people are like, “you do WHAT for money?” Then they look at you like your not being responsible.

People tend to downgrade and disrespect what they do not understand.

Then you hear them complaining about their jobs. The thing is they complain out of habit. It’s a ritual.

They are slaves to their own comfort zones. It’s sad too because their comfort zones aren’t necessarily happy places.

If someone asks me what can they do to make money online, I will tell them and often they will just look at me with dazed eyes or they will say, “dude you’re so smart.”

The only difference is, I want it, I am not willing to give up, I believe in myself and my ideas, and I won’t accept failure.

That’s it.

They have no idea how powerful they could be if they only took a stand and said, “You know what…I am only going to make money doing this one thing.” Forget work, forget everything else.

I am going to learn this one thing and I am going to be a bad ass at it.” They would manifest destiny.

I know this to be true.

I spent years being clueless, grinding it out in jobs I hated before I figured this out.

It took getting fired and forced out of a job that I had for 7 years before I finally started to wake up.

I wasted a lot of time. I would be a millionaire by now if I would have walked my own path and not been so afraid earlier.


5. What was your first ever website or niche? What did you learn from running that site?

Man, my first ever website was called ohio-music-resource.com which is still live today.

I started it when I was going through this course called Site Build It by Ken Envoy. It teaches you how to make authority sites, essentially.

I ran all the numbers, I wrote down all the plans, I followed all the steps to the letter. As far as I was concerned I was going to be making 6 figures by the end of the year off of sponsored advertising and my free information site.

Until…I didn’t.

Then I was like, “Man, why am I not making any money? What’s going on? I followed all the steps! Damn you Ken Envoy…CURSE YOU!!!” I tried to make that site work for two years. I spent about a thousand bucks on Site Build It.

It wasn’t Site Build It’s fault.

Basically dude, I did not have a feel for it back then. It was too much following instructions and trying to fit what I wanted to do into those instructions.

Not enough heart. Not enough true strategy.

If Salvador Dali was here in my living room right now he could teach me everything he knows and guess what…my painting is still not going to be as awesome as his.

It is going to take practice.

I would need to take what he taught me, process it, develop my own style with it, and just paint for a little while…then slowly I would start to get better.

I don’t think it’s any different with online marketing and making money independently. There is a learning curve to it.

For me though, I needed that Site Build It failure and a few more failures before I started figuring out what worked for me.

You can’t be afraid to give people content for free. Also you can’t be afraid to charge people for content. You need them both.

Another thing is you have to find your voice. I know I said that before but it’s very important. You have to say things in your own way and you cannot be afraid to have a take on things.

People buy into opinions not facts. They follow belief and inspiration NOT instructions.

The last thing I learned was that it pays to be the mechanic and not the “I hope this works” guy.

You have to examine all the parts of your system and see what is failing.

If you don’t know then you treat it like a car. You work on one part at a time until you finally fix the thing.

One sure way to fail is to just give up and move on. That’s what I did with my first site.

If I still owned that site now, I could get it making money.

6. If you had to give 1 piece of advice to someone new to the online marketing world what would it be?

Publish consistently. This is your greatest weapon.

Don’t misunderstand that.

I didn’t say publish like a mad man, or publish every single hour.

So for me personally, that means putting out a video once a week minimum.

I can put out an extra one if I am feeling saucy that week or if I have something time sensitive to say but it’s my JOB to get that one piece of good solid content up a week.

The consistent publishing is very important because it builds trust with your subscribers.

All you need to do is be there with information that can help them and do it in your own voice.

Doing this will build your trust and authority. It will also build your celebrity status in your niche. All three of these things will make you more money.

So yeah man if you take nothing else from this interview take these two words: Publish consistently.

...to be continu

article source: http://nichehacks.com/sick-to-super-affiliate/