Opair Project - A SCAM?!

in #money8 years ago

Opair Project is a SCAM?


A project named "Opair" has recently launched on bitcointalk (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1558596.0).



This project has started his ICO program a few days ago, and has already risen more than 70 bitcoins.



Okay, so the allegedly "legit" founders of this project chose NOT to use escrow for the funds they earn during the ICO phase, fishy, isn't it?

Also, the "CEO" of Opair claims to be interested in Bitcoin and the blockchain technology since 2012, and yet he claims to be a "passive reader" of the board, means he never registered an account, sure, mate.


After a quick Google search I could not find any online references about the name of "Frank H. Rettig" in anywhere but his own, probably fake, LinkedIn page.


Additionally, after running a whois check on the ICO website (Opair.co) I found out that the domain is not registered under any of the names mentioned in the thread. they are using AnonymousSpeech to hide the data of the domain owner. also, they are using CloudFlare's DDoS protection and DNS services so you cannot discover the IP address hosting the actual website.


The btctalk thread owner "wasserman99" is currently not allowing refunds of ICO funds, which is suspicious by itself:


--------

Look at the features in the thread, does it look like two developers can do all this work? they haven't shown a single line of code to the community yet. this project could simply not exist, and they can run away at any moment with the 49,000$ they already have.


This whole project, could EASILY be one German guy "wasserman99" who claims to be Frank and the rest of the team.

"OpairFrank" is the username of the CEO who's into bitcoin for years but read passively. and the other guy didn't even bother opening an account.

We haven't heard a word from the other guy involved, "Hao Wang" who is the "Core /Platform Developer". by the way, "Frank" and "Hao" live different sides of the world, and haven't worked in the same companies before.



Yeah, I have NO proof of this project being an actual scam at this point, but it's surely a very fishy and suspicious project, something is not right here.


If the Opair team really identify themselves or use a trusted escrow, ignore me. I'm just a STEEMIT blogger seeking for upvotes, but in the meanwhile, be careful with this one.


-SoapSadu



Sort:  

Great post!

we got scammed but i will find this guy. Maybe im gonna spend more than i invested but still..

I'm not sure what really happens now.. he could never come back to the forum and run away with 50k.

113 sat ico. I bought in anyways. They will let it get to market and i will profit.

Is it a scam? Maybe.

Could two full stack devs do all of that work? Yeah, it's possible. Especially since they could easily be raising money to hire people.

Escrow is not really a big deal.

Non-refundable proves nothing either.

Not being able to find "Frank" online is a good point. If you look me up you definitely can find online references to me and my work. I'm not a full-stack dev with 20 years experience. I think a full stack dev with 20 years of experience would certainly be found easily.

I use whois block. Most use Cloudflare. Those points prove nothing.

I agree, the whole project could easily be the one guy.

Developers collaborate from different parts of the world all of the time. My partner and I have been running a company together for 4 years and we've never physically met.

I'm glad you responded seriously and you didn't agree with all my points, I am not looking for bots to agree to my statements, only for people with common sense.

Wasserman99 claims an escrow is coming soon. let's see how it goes.

Super post