You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Personal Finance Series #8: How to Manage Debt

in #money7 years ago

I had to learn the hard way, but life is a learning lesson. I've learned to live by my means and the key for me is investing my money In crypto and saving some in a safe deposit box I can't get my hands on - since it would defeat the purpose. Limit myself to one credit card for emergencies, and never sign up for protection plans nor do I sign up for shopping cards (Macy's, Jc penny, etc). We are conditioned from adolescence to consume and to live dreams we can't afford - lies we can't wake up from. Media advertising knows children begin to create who they become and their habits the first several years after birth. That's why gaming ads, you ads, and any form of consumption ads are so common and triggered at children. Nice read, I really enjoyed your tips and will definitely follow.

Sort:  

Thanks for your reply; I agree with everything you said; overspending has become a national habit and it's starting at an earlier age in the new generations. Given that 70% of the U.S. economy is dependent on consumer spending, it's no wonder that corporations will go all out to entice us to spend (even if we don't have the money!). Thanks and steem on!