A Sunset in January

in #monochrome6 years ago (edited)

Caught this a while back when it was freezing cold. The ice on the lakes was thick enough so it was quite enjoyable to knock about over the water. This sunset was over in minutes and afterwards it was, well, really REALLY cold. Then again, it's all about how well you prepare for it.


Taking part in the #treetuesday contest by @old-guy-photos. Shot this with an age old East-German made lens. I enjoy the unsterile distortions etc. Usually it lights up quite nasty when shooting against the light but I'm happy with this one. If you're interested, have a look at my other stuff @vimma.

Be well everybody and thanks for your visit & support!

Sort:  

I can feel the extreme cold from this photo.

Congratulations @vimma! This post has been resteemed and featured on Minnow Curator Featured Post #2.

You got an upvote from @resteemvote and @wondersofnature!
Want to avail our Free Resteem and Upvote service? Check this out!

Thats a wonderful picture , Super super xD

I love how the people in this photograph give scale to the tree @vimma. Until I noticed them I had no idea the tree was so big. 😊

Very dramatic!

Hehe, thanks alot! One of my favourite trees around here

Lovely B&W. Just how cold it was?

While the sun was up it was maybe -18 Celsius but right after sundown it was around -25C. I planned to walk the ice route back to town but after a few kilometres I had to give up and take the bus home, haha

-25 isn't really the worst we get here but the last few years have been quite easy for us, so that's why the complaining

Almost like in Siberia. Where exactly is that?

That would be Finland. I gather Siberia is waaay colder (never visited). Proper layered clothing usually helps though.

Depends on the exact part of it, it's huge you know. The most populated area "enjoys" normal winter temperature at -30 or so.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 12:14:50
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 488.64/800.00
Total Photos: 54
Total comments: 93
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Amazing picture and this Black and White essence is giving this picture an effect of epicness. Thanks for sharing and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Thanks for calling @chireerocks

Welcome. 🙂

nice photo ^^

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Excellent capture!!

The tree looks like it is in some seriously deep snow there. Nice vignetting. tip!

Thanks! It’s the Pentacon magic :D

You can't beat those old timey cameras...pure classics.

Heh, yea the lenses come with their own individual effects! Check out pentacon 29mm reviews

I've picked up a few older cameras and lenses from thrift shops etc for my sons camera collection.
I'll keep my eyes open for this model in future. Thanks for the info.

Hi @vimma! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @molometer!

@molometer wrote lately about: Robin Hood Gardens What An Ironic Name? Feel free to follow @molometer if you like it :)

That looks like one cold day!!! Don't know how long the people stood to watch the sunset.

What makes it look nasty in the light?

There's quite a lot of people walking on the ice on sunny days.

The problem with the lens is that if there's much direct light right against the glass elements, the picture becomes foggy. There's also plenty of vignetting and distortion in normal circumstances which many might consider faulty but I think that in some cases it's a nice characteristic feature.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!