Varietal Monochrome Monday

in #monochromemonday7 months ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to share some pictures from our late season apple picking trip in black and white!

IMG_2327 edit.jpg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Varietal Monochrome Monday

Apple picking is one of my all-time favorite things to do around here. What's a little surprising is that I haven't really spent a lot of time doing late-season apple picking until this year!

The apple picking season is typically the end of summer and very beginning of autumn. That is prime season for the ideal apple varieties that I enjoy eating but it's clearly not the only period! The season is actually fairly long, in terms of the different apples that you can get. I know there are some early season apples which are on the tarter side, and the middle season which has the ones that have a mixture of sweet and tart, with the ones at the end of the season being largely the sweet ones.

IMG_2323 edit.jpg

I think because the end of the season is where most of the sweeter apples are harvested is likely why I don't spend much time on it. I much prefer the apples that are on the more tart side than the ones that are sweet. I just don't like biting into an apple and tasting purely fructose lol. I like some bite to it, with the acidity and tartness of it coming more forward than the pure sweet. I know that may sound strange, where a lot of people prefer fruit that has a lot of sweetness to it but for me I don't really love the sweetness.

This was changed though this week! We went on an apple picking trip, the last time this farm is open for the year for it, and we got some really delicious apples and they weren't purely sweet shit varieties! Lol

IMG_2326 edit.jpg

I know I just said all that and have a picture of an apple called "Snow Sweet" (Sorry for cutting off the T.. I wasn't doing a good job of being a photographer! Lol) and I wasn't sure what I would be in for with this one, but I was definitely surprised! It was not really what they were naming it, it was more along the lines of my favorite apple variety the Cortland or Macintosh.

What I was enjoying with these pictures for sure is how it highlighted the different dark colors of the ground properly. I have been enjoying the desaturation filter in GIMP and it did a great job of not only making this black and white but it highlighted the colors properly on the grass. The middle path was a lot darker than the outer parts which it did a great job in all the photos to properly represent!

IMG_2327 edit.jpg

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

Whenever the dark clouds come like this, the cold wind is blowing, the weather is very nice, so it is very relaxing here.

Yeah I look forward to this weather now! It’s not so bad I think.

Yeah you are right.

I wished I could just pick apples like how you people do it over there
They don't grow here, lol

They are picky with where they grow that's for sure! Hopefully you can visit an area that has apple trees like this!

In some part of the world, the weather didn't favour growing apples. You guys must have been lucky over there to always easily pick apples

Yeah we are absolutely lucky to live where we do! It's got many beautiful things, these apples are definitely one of them!

Congratulations @cmplxty! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 135000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 140000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!