You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monochrome Monday – Alaska Ferry Terminal

in #monochromemonday5 years ago

Oh, the sea is calling you! :)

I would love to take the ferry to Alaska, but, I honestly think it would be cheaper to cruise there! Ferry's really have gone up in price. The one from Connecticut to Long Island which is only a few miles is $17.00 one way. I realize maintenance, fuel, and salaries play a huge part, so I do my part to smile as I hand over the money.

What a huge storm! I am afraid to go look at some of the damage some days after a storm kicks up. Mother Nature can have a temper! I like your hot pink discs and yes, lime green is another color I like for visibility. I like the idea of a tracker on it.

Hope your New Year is going well!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Sort:  

Yes, ferry prices are very expensive. There was some talk about switching to electric motors for cost savings. I'm not sure of details, I didn't fully read the article. There are some areas around here where ferry rides really cut down on the number of miles you have to drive and could save a bunch of fuel over everyone driving separately.

It seems like a tracker could be used on a variety of things if designed right. Perhaps some type of solar powered chip made into flexible tape that you stuck on things that you might leave in not so obvious places. Maybe even your car, for some of us... LOL. Probably the range would be limited though unless you had some pretty good power source driving the signal - hardware is not my area of expertise though.

I can't even begin to tell you how many times I have lost my car. If a sea of silver, my car does not stick out like a sore thumb. Next time I think I will get pumpkin orange like the @@@old-guy-photos. I am pretty sure he probably does not have trouble finding his.

It's true that it does save a lot of time and gas money taking the ferry back home. The tolls alone cover the price of the ferry. I exaggerated a little bit however the tolls have have gone up so much, I'm wondering if it is really taking more than 50 years to pay for these roads. Anyway, it's always good to see you posting and I hope that all is going well with you in your world.

Yeah but ya gotta have the hat to match @dswigle LOL
14 - 1.jpg

Hehe! Ah, touche!! @old-guy-photos!