Monochrome Monday - A Daze Like Any Other Daze

in #monochromemonday5 years ago (edited)

Since moving back to the Central Coast of California, I have found myself in a bit of what I can only describe as a daze (in a good and interesting way.) Even though I lived here for the majority of my life, it's as if I have returned with fresh eyes...everything seems new. I always have a camera with me in one form or another and I think I have taken more pictures since the end of November than any average person has business taking. What am I going to do with them all?!


Here is a peek into my day and what captures my attention.

Lori's Porch - iPhone.jpg
Sometimes, I can't even get off the front porch without finding something intriguing. First, I was attracted by the shadow and then, while trying to find the right angle, I saw the dried rose. I wondered how it got there. It seems like a decent writing prompt for those who are so inclined. People predisposed to penning poetry or prose, please proceed. Don't forget to share! I would love to hear how this story unfolds.


iHop - B&W.jpg
This existential moment is brought to you by iHop. I love the weirdness of this shot! It's so different for me but yet, very much my style. You get a look into my psyche here and how my mind is always framing what I see...in a conscious and intentional way. I have to admit, it can be exhausting because, there are times I can't give it a rest. I want to capture every moment, like it's an urgent need! I don't want to miss a thing because there is so much cool stuff to see, even while you are sitting at breakfast.


In the Weeds - B&W.jpg
This is where I spend miles and miles of time. I am out in these hills at least six days a week and I always find something new to photograph. The other day, I took 80 pictures! It was as if I was in a trance, overwhelmed with the beauty of this place that I know like the back of my hand! I am thankful that these trails are so close by and, in many ways, have become my second home.


Well, there you have it...a daze like any other daze for me. And to continue on that theme, I didn't even realize that there are shadows featured in each of these shots until I got to the end of writing the text. How does someone so seemingly in tune with the details miss that? I suppose that could be a topic of another post. :D

I hope you enjoyed my contribution to #monochromemonday brought to you by @old-guy-photos

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

I sure am glad you shared them with us! Great work.

What a wonderful series of MOnochrome shots each so special in its own ways

Thanks, Jay!

Most welcome ;)

Hello @samanthajbarnes, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Wow! Thank you so much! I will hop over to your page and see what's going on!!!