Ultraviolet and Infrared Photography - Bridge into the woods

There is a walking path that has been slowly taken back by the forest. I have ventured into the thick of it in the past, and it opens up a little. But generally not a good place to go for a walk. It seems the people that cared for the plants overgrowing the area have stopped paying attention. And now there is just a bridge going into the woods.

rkeqTMS-GE.jpg

These are my entries for #monochromemonday

Camera ModelLumix GH3, modified by LifePixel for Full Spectrum
LensOlympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12mm-50mm
FilterB+W UV Black (403) Filter
Aperturef/5
Shutter Speed1/40 sec
Film Speed400
SpectrumUltraviolet-A and (UVA and IR)
Wavelength320 to 385 nm and 750 nanometers
LocationNorth Georgia USA.

SyZq6zr-fE.jpg

This bridge was well made, with tough 2x4s, 1x10s and 4x4 posts. I am surprised its held up this well for this long. You can only walk 3/4 of the bridge before you have plants in your face. And there are some nasty vines in the thicket too.

HyG9pMSWMN.jpg

Under the bridge is a flowing stream that feeds into a pond. You can hear the water flowing walking up to the path, and then see it next to the bridge or by standing on the structure.

Maybe one day someone will clean up the branches so it can be walked again. Though I have found alot of trash back there so im afraid they are treating it as a dumping ground. Maybe allowing to overgrow people stopped dumping.. Mainly construction equipment like old steel barrels and erosion matting.


I take photos with a special camera. Its a Mirrorless digital camera that has been modified by Life Pixel to see light in other wavelengths. This allows my camera to see light in the Infrared [IR] around 1300 NM wavelength, through the visual spectrum and into the Ultraviolet A and B wavelengths roughly into the 300 NM wavelength.

I carry many filters on me to make the photos you see in my blog, these filters screw on my lens and help me isolate certain wavelengths for certain scenes. These filters can be IR / UV pass-through filters to assist me get a natural photo taking out the UV and IR light. Or I may use a Infrared pass-through filter capture just IR light. I can do the same with IR light as well, though I need some better filters which they can cost a few hundred dollars for true Ultraviolet pass through filters. So for right now I have B + W 403 band pass filters that still allow some IR light in, due to their cheaper material.

For more information on how I do my photography I have a short video on that: https://steempeak.com/photography/@solominer/vqgcrs3x

HyedqTBryV.gif

thanks @nevlu123 for the animation

Sort:  

Pretty cool photographs.. specially i love the second one , the perspective of wooden bridge and fallen leaves..

@priyanarc thanks much, I see what you mean and I agree. The structure by the leaves sure looks great.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello. Nice intro to IR photography, and really nice pictures. I myself have done a little IR. But only using IR filters with no modifications to the camera itself (way out of my price range). Here is one of my efforts from about 10 years ago that I still happen to have around.
CRW_1692.jpg

@jesced sweet photo, I have been curious what it looks like on an unmodified camera. Looks pretty good, did you need to use a tripod for the shot?

And welcome to steem. Love your food post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...