MonoMad Challenge ~ Three Span Truss Bridge

in #monomad5 years ago

This is my entry for the #monomad challenge by @monochromes! You can learn more about the contest and how to enter HERE!

My photo is, actually, of a three-span Parker through truss bridge. The name Parker comes from Charles H. Parker who patented the design in 1870. This steel bridge is over Loch Raven Reservoir and Gunpowder Falls. It is the known as the Loch Raven Reservoir Bridge or the Warren Road Bridge because that is where it is located. This bridge was built in 1923 and is still in use today. I took this photo as we (husband and I) were driving over the steel deck.

rkylkyv26f.jpg

Thank you @brumest for #monomad and #monochromes!!

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks so much @pixresteemer!!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Geometry fascinates me. I found myself gazing into this photo for quite some time. Very nice shot!

Thanks so much @futuremind!!

Welcome friend :)

Great shot! What kind of camera did you use? You don't see many bridges like this around anymore. I live in Pittsburgh PA all the bridges around the city used to look like this.

Over the years they have changed them all over to just concrete bridges!

Definitely a rarity and very beautiful shot!😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much @bit-trader! It wasn't a planned excursion so I only had my phone camera a LGv20.
I guess concrete is more economical but certainly not as nice to look at. I only have a few photos of this particular bridge which I'll show in a couple more posts. :)

I love this style of bridge and what a cool shot of it

Thank you Jay!! To me, it's like a piece of art! ;)

Yes to me as well the style of them is a form of art

I love this picture ! The memories of my hometown ! I am soooo following you and of course upvoted and resteemed because I enjoyed your work ❤️❤️❤️🍸

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you very much @tammyp!! Are you from Baltimore Co? Which part? I'm on the cusp of Parkville and Towson. :)

Howdy deerjay! dang, that's a long bridge! But it's a well built one. Great photo for the tag too!

Thanks @janton!! I got pretty lucky as that there wasn't another car on it. It is pretty cool to ride over it too with the steel grates. It's also a little spooky at night. 🌙

haha! yeah they don't make them like they used to but I bet it's a great bridge and very safe and it looks cool too!

@deerjay nice old sturdy looking bridge. I remember seeing one similar in Michigan.

Posted using Partiko Android

woohoo i do like bridges :D You got nice texture and framing is neath to :D awsome job :D

Thanks so much @swedishdragon!! It's one of the cooler ones around here. ;)

Oh cooler? Like there are more ?? Woohoo show them tooooo😀😀👍🏻💗