Looming Over the Square - MonoMad

in #monomad7 years ago (edited)


DSCF2753Title.png

Taken during a brief pause from walking with a group in Malaga, February 2016... is the following image.


DSCF2753BW.png

Quite the opposite of the previous entry - this building seems to charge in to dominate its surroundings with its character.

Overcast yet light skies with high winds and the occasional heavy rain, umbrella in hand and backpack tucked under the rain cover, this still turned out a fun and interesting visit. Would have been perfect had my umbrella not been yanked out of its handle (grasped firmly within my hand) by a strong gust of wind, sent hurtling and spinning like a thing possessed (for quite a few meters but maybe only a couple of seconds in time) - before being promptly run over by a van when it made landfall...

'cringes and pockets the handle while hurriedly walking way, growing ever-damper...' o_o;

I didn't stick around as the tyres screeched to a halt. Thank goodness nobody got hurt - and the tyre was 'probably' fine - even if the crunching sound of the wispy metal skeleton failing instantaneously under a different kind of onslaught, sent heart down to the pit of my stomach.

I digress!


This building pictured I initially thought was a covered market - but probably was just a structure that caught my attention. I really like its architecture and 'exploded style' closed balconies - and I fancy that these balconies serve as room extensions.

Also interesting is the pagoda-like style of the roofing - and I also fancy there being a lighthouse inspiration in the round upper levels. It was just a delight to view and while I can no longer recall the precise location, its still a photo that I like to give a double-take while traveling down memory lane.


Again, I enhance the contrast through a simple overlay of a duplicated layer in Paint.NET. Also resized to 600x800 for sanity's sake. No other modifications made.

This is my Wednesday entry for @brumest's MonoMad Photographic Contest (this week's theme - Buildings).


If you found this post interesting and would like to share this with your friends then a resteem couldn't hurt.

If you 'didn't' like this then feel free to share your views in comments. A civil conversation can go a long way.

Sincerely,

Previous Post: Of Wealth and Power - Needs and Responsibilities

Sort:  

Awesome perspective on that second photo! Nice choice :)

Thank you kindly @jadoob ^_^

Its actually just a slice of the second image that has been rotated clockwise to suit a steemit-list-friendly horizontal image and slightly colored in with white for whatever bit of sky needed filling in. :cP

Thank you for stopping by!