Sort:  

Wow! That second picture. What an effect.

Thanks, @agmoore. The second one is very emotional to me. My very dear friend moved to Jasenovac, so recently I made a visit trip there. Jasenovac is well known for concentration camp mostly for women and children, usually described as the Auschwitz of the Balkans and this monument is dedicated to its victims. It's a massive sculpture, has impressive size, cement-made, but also, its shape of flower brings some softness.

I just read up on the camp. You captured the significance and the sorrow with that photo. I felt it so strongly, you can tell by my comment.
Are you are familiar with a show called Novine, or The Paper (in English)? My husband and I watched it on Netflix. This show is so rich in history and political context. It suggests but does not directly address conflicts, and horrors, of the past. Of course, this is fiction, but so affecting that I started reading up on the formation and dissolution of Yugoslavia. Your photo adds another piece to my understanding.

I know for that show, although has never watched it, but it's on the list. Kind a tired of political truths. If you understand what I want to say... And it's not any different today, just need to wait for another 20 or 50 or 100 years to see.

Congratulations. Today's #monomad third place is yours. Thank You very much for participating.

Many thanks!


Congratulations @tellurian!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!