New Camera Moon Test = Much Happyness!!

in #moon7 years ago (edited)

As I post yesterday I got a new Canon PowerShot camera. My first new camera in a few years and I was up earlier this morning when the moon caught my eye! Here is my first moon shot with the new camera!

20170916192458_IMG_0115~3.JPG

Super happy with how this shot turned out on the auto setting and with my shaky hand on a cold morning, one of the first cold mornings of the year here in Calgary, Canada.

Here is the second shot with Venus I believe hanging on the power line!

20170916192821_IMG_0129~2.JPG

And then it was off to find the tripod I haven't used in a while. Not in the shed with the camping stuff, the last place I remember seeing it. But was found after a searching the basement.

I haven't fully read the new manual on the new Canon Powershot. But did look up a video on YouTube to try and find out a good setting leave to shoot the moon with. I got stuck when I seen how good this in was on this camera. And left for the back yard to try and zoom in on the moon.

Here is the results from my first try on auto setting!

20170916201636_IMG_0138~2.JPG

And zoomed in a little closer!

20170916201702_IMG_0142~2.JPG

Well I am happy with these first results. I will continue to learn about the camera and I'm sure these will improve. But for now they're great Improvement, just being able to take a picture of the moon with out being disappointed with what my smartphone would take.

Here is a look at the relatively inexpensive camera! As compared to what you can spend on camera equipment these days!

IMG_20170917_073405.jpg


IMG_20170917_073425.jpg

I bought this camera to take photos of my metal artwork! But it's fun to take photos and be excited about photography again. Like to think of myself as above average amateur photographer. And stay tuned for more post to come!


Don't ever be a metal artist that sells out to corporate greed, and if you have too, skip the corporate and join steemit!

@dylanhobalart
September 17/2017

Sort:  

that looks awesome. I have tried a few time taking moon with my DSLR camera, but all failed.

Thanks @ekavieka! Always thought I might own a DSLR camera, but it's a much larger investment. Being a metal artists trying to build my tools up in that area. This was a great price ponit for me.

I hope you try again with your DSLR with more success in the future.

i will, just need to learn the technique in taking the moon shot.

The close up is fantastic! I agree, these days you can get really good cameras for an acceptable amount of money !

So true! I just did not realize how good camera were getting at this price ponit and am really impressed so far. Thanks for you comment @dandesigns! Steem-on!!

Steem-on Buddy ! :)

WOWWWWW!!!! Just gorgeous! :) :) :) Thank you so much for waking up early to capture these shots for us, I just LOVE the one with Venus <3 <3 <3

Thank-you @lyndsaybowes! Glad you like!!

I'm hoping my new camera will improve my posting ability here on steemit!

I been busy working of late, but I might add it has been great to watch you have some great success here on the platform. Wish I had more time to fully enjoy your abilities here!

Aww, you are so sweet and kind, thank you very much <3 <3 <3

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Hi @da-dawn, I looked at it for couple of times and I thought what I can see is unreal but it really felt like the moon is smiling at you. Thank you for this amazing photo.

Good work with the new camera. I also have a power shot but not that one. I get amazing moon shots with mine too. I have the canon powershot SX60HS
Happy shooting xx

Cameras can be a good investment too. Specially here on steem. Thanks for the lovely photos you showed