You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time Well Waisted : The prequel - It's not easy being a freak.

in #morocco4 years ago

Allow me to ask, whether "Overtaken by wonderlust..." is intentionally chosen, or more related to the 'Wanderlust' of the German speaking folks.

A great catch and freudian slip on my part. The intent was Wanderlust yet in hindsight that period had all the earmarks of Wonderlust about it. My meaning is that there was great wonder attached to most experiences at the time. The feeling of wonder could be brought on by anything from the first sightings of the timeless Atlas Mountains to the blow your mind philosophical insights of reading R. D. Laing.

This became painfully clear when attempting to strike out on the road many decades later. The plan was to travel west, across Canada, and approach Asia from the opposite side than from my visits in my youth. This trip was the first time for me seeing the Rocky Mountains. Although their beauty was not lost to me it was not mind numbing with wonder as the Himalayas had been in my youth. Instead of places and sights of wonderment the trip became more about looking up old friends along the way. It became not about where but to whom the journey took me.

Before leaving Canada house responsibilities and family obligations called me home. It was with some degree of relief, as it had become clear to me that there would have been less wonder and more loneliness had the trip continued. There was a greater appreciation of the youthful travels that had been taken, yet also for the home and family that awaited me upon my return.