Mother's Day

in #mothersday6 years ago

So today is Mother's Day, a day we're supposed to celebrate Mothers everywhere because they do everything for us, love us unconditionally, sacrifice everything for us, yada yada yada.

Trouble is, this wasn't my experience. Sure, without my mother I wouldn't be here. But the rest of it doesn't correlate with my youth, nor does it correlate with my first marriage. I didn't feel my mother sacrificed that much, certainly didn't seem to love me unconditionally.

My first wife wouldn't hold a job, but also wouldn't participate in raising our children. At one point I was sleeping 3 hours per day, working nights and only getting sleep while the youngest was in day care for 3 hours.

Long story short, I see all these missives being bandied about on how great mothers are. Little love for the men who had to be mothers because the real ones weren't there for whatever reason. If anything, there is misandry that is as undeserved as all the love toward mothers.

Anyhow, I had to vent. My experience does not match so many others, I know this, and so much the better for them.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cmdecker! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!