DEPRESSION

in #motivation6 years ago

I picked the wrong kind
I drank from the wrong bottle
Save me! save me!!
The stench of loneliness was my last breath
The gory image of depression was my last sight
My footprints were covered by the swirling wind of dejection
My palm was stained by the dripping brush of frustration
The space between is gradually consuming me
I felt gay when i heard i would be killed
Finally! i would be free, i would be clean

Depression is a diseases that most people don't know they are suffering due to it nature and has rendered so many potentials of individuals useless thus it can be said to be cause of most of suicidal deaths that do occur.
About 3.3 million American adults have been diagnosed with persistent depressive disorder. This is a country where the standard of living is quite comfortable, the question here, would be, How many Nigerians are depressed?

Certainly the number can not be determined due to incorrect statistics that one would find. Nigeria is a country that has been plagued with various problems ranging from economic indecency to religious bigotry down to social segregation. so one would wonder why half of the populace won't be depressed.

Depression leads to emotional imbalance, social reclusiveness and even financial bankruptcy and lastly death. people who are depressed would not readily open up as the case of one Dr orji that jumped into the lagoon because of depression, You can read the story here http://dailypost.ng/2017/03/21/dr-orji-jumped-lagos-lagoon-colleague-reveals/

The young man could not open up to anyone because he feels Nigerians would laugh at him for being depressed as depression for most Nigerians is an American thing. This misconception has lead to the death of many Nigerians and if nothing is done, the believe would continue. so my advice is open up!! when you feel depressed

Thanks for reading. kindly upvote or resteem

Sort:  

Do you believe that a mere opening up can change the scenario for many people? I have 2 dear friends of mine (from different countries) who are brilliant in all the possible ways and yet, are having their own depressive thoughts swirling about their bright heads. I want to help, though it's not in my power...The one example of depression fighter which I'm very proud about is my mom. Last year I took her out of Ukrainian colds to live with me in Thailand for 3 months. It did open her up to the new perceptions and other realities people are living in. Later she came back to Ukraine, still roaming in her gloomy thoughts...A year has left, she has completed her first in a lifetime acting course, got a job that she loves, constantly explores the new city she's living in and gives me more reasons to smile that I'd dream of!!! I'm not an expert "depressionist" for sure, though from what I saw, it's not only opening and acknowledging of the state that's needed. But also a fundamental shift of mind\perception. And that has to be done by the walker in person. Nobody could walk our Path and our story for us.