You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Becoming a Vegetarian and About The Benefits and Impact on The World

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

You are really giving me hope now :) I wanted really to know the opinion of others about this topic. I ate meat all my life and yes I had Burgers, Steaks and everything you can imagine. Lately I started disliking chicken and meat after what I saw in documentaries regarding the food industry and the torture of animals.
In the past 2 years I dont buy meat and chicken, but eat sometimes if I am invited somewhere. I try to follow raw food diet which is a bit difficult at the beginning, but still trying my best. I eat sea food and smoked salmon fish and find them OK.
I learned how to make different smoothies and desserts using fruits and nuts. I cant eat eggs anymore, but once in a while. So actually the perfect plan for the day is Smoothie or porridge in the morning. Again smoothies or omelet for lunch. Steamed vegetables salad for dinner. I eat nuts at anytime to fill my hunger. I cut out sugar and salt from my diet. Still struggling and trying not to buy cakes or biscuits, but will do it one day :)

Sort:  

I realized when I eat a lot of raw vegetables I don't crave sweets and fast food. But i still do want some meat protein once in a while or eggs or cheese , so it will be hard for me to become a vegan, but vegetarians do eat cheese and eggs, so I think I can try it :) How are your sugar levels? I feel like if will be drinking/eating a lot of smoothies it might raise.

It is not easy to be a vegan, besides off that ;
I do respect vegan people.
Whenever I cook for a big audience it must be vegan just in case a vegan shows up.
Sugar is the biggest problem at the moment I guess.
Sugar Off!

I agree about sugar. ...and yeah I also serve a lot of vegan dishes because nowadays a lot of people are becoming vegetarians or vegan, so just in case I serve different salads or cooked veggies. And meat eaters like it too :)

@ella-kay No your sugar level wont raise, because they are natural. I drink coffee and tea without sugar and dont buy soft drinks. So actually it is OK. Some fruits are more sweeter than the others so I try to balance the taste.

@nanohousehold Yes true sugar is the biggest problem, but I could replace it with fruits. For example a bitter filter coffee with dates for breakfast. Avocado with honey and cacao powder (Chocolate Mousse) for the afternoon. I keep it going that way. I use banana to sweeten cakes and other smoothies :)