Be Afraid and Do It Anyway

in #motivation6 years ago
As an introvert, growing up was tough. People like me are known to not pick up fights so we always turn up as fresh meat for bullies. This situation carried on for sometime and instilled in me some kind of fear towards all kinds of people later on in life. This also made me miss out a lot in my childhood and teenage stage in life as I was always indoors learning. It became worse when during our final exams in high school, I decided to not engage in Examination Malpractice. It made the party boys (single sex school) very infuriated with me as I even tried to convince the serious students to join me.
I was afraid to the point where I wanted to call it quits and join in as almost everyone had but as stubborn as I was, I couldn’t. I guess deep down, I have built up a “never give up” thought in my brain and no matter how scared my results was going to turn out, I still believed in what I had learnt to give me an encouraging result and it did. This experience taught me a lesson and cost me friends. The lesson was “Not everybody has what it takes to make a commitment and keep to it but those who do find that belief in themselves”. It is had to find people who are willing to sacrifice it all on their belief in themselves all because they lesson too much to outside influence which by the way pays no dividends in the long run.
This is not to say that I am no longer afraid of anything, I am very much afraid of most of the things I engage in. I am afraid of the business I have started (KwakuMax photography). I am afraid I would not get customers to help me hit my (1,000,000 Photographs) mark in the next 4years. I am afraid of not withdrawing my earnings from steemit and using it to power up and promote my post because the system just as it came into existence can die without a trace. All these fears and more reside in my thoughts everyday but the interesting part is, every time I set a target and hit it, the doubt disappears gradually. The fear of failure is said to have conquered more people than anything in the world. People opt for “secure jobs” because they are afraid their own start ups would not make it. Being an associate of an MLM business has taught me so much. It has taught me how to grow a thick skin layer to help absorb all the “no’s” people have and will continue to tell me.
Being afraid however is a natural thing. No one can claim not to have a shred of fear residing in their mind. But it is just as one wise woman once said “resilience is like a muscle. That means it can be built”. Some people seem fearless because they have built their resilience towards negativity and that what I am preaching today. Feel thee fear, be afraid as hell that it wouldn’t go as planned and do it anyway. This is because if you fail to do this, generations to come will suffer for it. Set small monthly or weekly targets and try to make it happen. With the right tools, you will achieve the greatness but believing in yourself is the first investment you will have to make. Keep on learning new things everyday to help you grow emotionally and in the next few years, you will marvel at how far you have come.

Image Sources 1,2,3,4

Sort:  

Every word in this piece is worth notice. I remember that @kwakumax way back in high school. Your scanty autobiography given in this article is true and I Never thought that 'slim' 😂 kwakumax would become a broad-chested inspiration to everyone. Continue with the good work and never quit to give risky through balls because those are the ones that produce goals and success.

Made a beautiful life story. Your story is a lot better than we have to learn a lot. In fact, there should be no fear in life, the only creator fears @kwakumax

Great post, on the side of fear, there is this article I read something back that mentioned: The the only fear we are born with is the fear of darkness, the rest we learn or pick them up as we are born into this world. Once we understand this, we can be able to over come every fear out there. We can climb mountains and do all the other stuff :)

Keeping a positive mindset always is very important in life. We have the power to take control of our thoughts rather than letting it control us. We can reform those negative thoughts to positive thoughts.
It is good to be courageous in the face of fear.
No matter what comes your way;
Face Everything And Rise

@kwakumax thanks for this beautiful post.

@kwakumax this very post is the reason am following here on steemit. I was such an introvert who could literally cry when shy. Interactions with people changed all if that. I can relate exactly to this. Thanks so much

One thing I learnt from prison break is that fear is imaginary, this is what borrows scolfied told his, since then, the only thing I began to fear and respect was only God..

And excellent work @kwakumak