My Little Experiment

in #motivation6 years ago

My journey in the Philippines was more of an experiment. it was where I got to put in my childhood dreams to action for the first time - turning 4 greens houses into a big red hotel

I’m referring to the game of Monopoly if you’re confused with 4green houses ideology I used.

Bought my first property unit in my late 20s with the goal of moving towards my goal of a big red hotel. Well, still on that journey I'm not there yet.

Learned a lot from the process, as I got to prove to myself that my mind is capable of beautiful things beyond my current awareness.

Why is this so important to the writer, people achieve goals on a daily bases, why the heck should you finish reading this?

A brief insight into my reality

I hail from not so much and from a world where dreams are either shattered from childhood by their parents because of dumb cultural values or just the harsh knockouts from the society.

Oh, did I mention the restrictions, that would just make you want to swallow a bullet.

Most dreams are killed at the very beginning of their inception and souls are beaten into submission to settle, this implies to those who have dreams, to begin with.

My Choice

I once heard a guy say

“Home is where you’re treated best”

This mixed with my interest in travel, I set out to go find my home wherever in the world that is.

Making it out of my world was a couple of years’ goal to accomplish.

Back to my Story

The Philippines granted me access to what I’ve always wanted to do the cheaper cost of entry made sense.

The curveball was aligning myself with people whose goals aren’t congruent with mine and that’s fine no grudges, just roll with it.

We went through our hurdles of surviving and making it work which brought us to the platform of Airbnb (Using OPM).

Great relationships were created, learned more about the world through other people’s view, while most were just passers-by as well as maintaining our super host status from when we started till date.

My Point

If you don’t train your muscles in the gym, they won’t grow, right?

Maneuvering through those hurdles showed me that I got what it takes, yes, there’s a ton more to learn, that’s what makes life interesting no doubt, and I’ve also made tons of mistakes too which I have learned and still learning from

Whatever doesn’t grow dies.

No matter where you’re from, your upbringing, you can become what you desire - cliche statement I know.

Here's what you can do like I did.

  • Map out your dreams and goals, don’t box yourself in, figure out if you can achieve those goals where you are physically, if not, start researching and exploring other places.

This might delay the process but it’s part of the fun. Remember earlier, I said it took me a while to get out of my world

  • Don’t be too patriotic, do what’s best for YOU.

  • Planting flags is leverage, learn how to use it to your advantage.

  • If you lack the support like I did and still do look beyond borders, thank goodness for the internet.

Those closest to you may not get you anyways if your dreams are bigger than what they can comprehend so,

  • Get rid of those toxic in your life

  • Don't say too much, stay mysterious, remember don't tell, do.

  • Constantly work on yourself, I'm on this journey myself, it's a continuous process.

Hope you find value in this at least something to get you to start testing things out regarding your bigger goals instead of confining yourself to your current location or situation.

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/micscrypt-my-little-experiment-1529547420413.png

Posted using Partiko iOS, join the beta testing program here

Sort:  

Congratulations @micscrypt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!