Kareem Abdul Jabbar's Advice - Life lessons with Kareem

in #motivation7 years ago

Some 2+ years ago I remember stumbling onto guest posts by Kareem Abdul Jabbar for Esquire. It's pretty neatly and beautifully written, succint and straight to the point. Still with a lot of style. The links are a bit older, so it may be the case many of you haven't had the opportunity to read them.


Being familiar with how much he acheived I wanted to see just what did he have to say, and many of the things I've read resonated with me later on. I remember back then the struggle I was having with final years of my college studies, doing an internship at the same time, last exams, thinking how to move on from there, what will be my next moves...

I guess for most young people all of the struggles of growing up, sudden realizations that your childhood is ending, life isn't as careless as it seems, often come too soon and sneak up on you. Unless you are some prodigy or genius, your twenties are probably not the years of success but instead years of opportunities, building, creating value, utilising your curiosity and searching.

Questions and diffuculties are many for young people, but without giving too much introduction here are two posts by Kareem from some years ago that I hope you like and will help you along the way with your struggles and thoughts.

And know that - If fate doesn't make you laugh, than you just don't get the joke.

20 Things I Wish I'd Known Before Turning 30

20 Things Boys Can Do To Become Men