How I lost weight (NY resolution)

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

I don't know about you guys but I'm one if those people that likes to set goals around New Year's. Following through with them is a whole other story though.. Last year my resolution was to lose weight and I did it! In my previous post I was asked to put up some before and after pictures with my weight-loss suggestions.

This picture is from 3 years ago where I was around 240lbs being 6ft tall.

2017-12-29-21-27-28-327.jpg

(I'm in the gray t-shirt)

I felt really heavy, had shortness of breath, very high cholesterol levels, pre-diabetes etc...

I got really fed up with it. And promised myself that I would exercise every single day for at least 30min to an hour. I got myself an elliptical that I would do for about 30 min every morning before work. Then after work I would come back home and depending on a day, I would go play basketball, volleyball, go jogging, bike, or do ballistic kettlebell exercises for about an hour. On top of that I started taking a vitamin B complex (that gives me little more energy) while cutting down on sweets and carbs in general. I tried going to bed earlier as well so that I can get my 8 hours of sleep every night, or at least get close to it. The basic idea was to consume less calories than I was burning.

PicsArt_1416722776331.jpg

(November 2016 - ~230lbs.. 10lbs down)

Applications like Strava and MyFitnessPal, and other types of fitness tracking devices are very helpful as well. I used Samsung gear fit2 for a year and now im using a Garmin Forerunner 935 (which is amazing) I highly suggest getting a Garmin watch for anyone regardless of your fitness level.

Link to my Strava account: https://strava.app.link/nGpwo2k9sJ

IMG_20180101_161008_260.jpg

(2017 year in numbers- 438 hours of working out)

So in August 2017 when I was getting ready for my big volcano climb (see my Mt. Adams post) I weighed in at 187lbs (53lbs loss over 3 years and ~20lbs lost in 2017 alone) I also gained quite a bit of muscle mass so the numbers do not represent the full picture.

20170917_152313.jpg

(Burning up 7000 calories on a 100 mile bike ride Sept 2017)

20180105_124938.jpg

(Canoeing in Banff, Canada. Summer 2017. Weight- 190lbs)

IMG_20170814_203513_378.jpg

(Hiking with my gf on my shoulders- October 2017 - 185lbs)

In other words, the main thing is to change your mindset. I had to promise to myself (and trust me, it took a lot of will power) to exercise 420 minutes per week (~1 hr per day). That promise along with motivational gadgets was what made this journey doable. You just have to make sure to bring the element of fun into your workout routine- then you'll never want to stop!

Wishing you all happy and healthy year!

Sort:  

You look fantastic man. I think you should share this story on many networks and inspire other people. I know this is only the beginning for you and one day you will be Mr. Olympia! :) Love the post, keep it up! @muscleroast.com

Thank you!!

Wow, that's amazing!! You did such a beautiful job and much Congrats. I love all the nature photos and the recommendation for the Garmin. I gained 20 lbs after two major moves and I wan to lose it so bad. You have been a huge encouragement. Thank you so much! xx

Glad to hear that! Thank you for your comment!

You're welcome.

Congrats man! That is amazing and very inspiring! I know how hard weight loss can be as I was 300 pounds the start of last year and manage to get to 225 today! Your story is very motivating for me to keep on my journey! Thank you so much for sharing!

Thank you! Wow 75lbs lost in a year- that's amazing! Good job!

Congrats for your result! Do it a lil bit every day is the key. In the beginning it's hard then it's start to be an habits and finally you get addicted to the it! I had a similar experience than you, when I start to understand how my body works everything became easier. I will share soon a post about it too. Never give up! And appreciate your new lifestyle 😉

Thanks! Yup, you're exactly right!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nerdy.alex to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I enjoyed reading your post
Respect ! A very motivating story :)
Keep up the healthy life style 👌🏻

Happy Steeming!

Thank you!

:) Great work ... but all I want to know, Mr. Nerdy-Alex, is how are you getting to use so many tags?

Thank you! There must have been a glitch of some sort - when I tried editing the post it deleted all but 5 tags.. I guess I got lucky at first :)

Bummer. I wanted a magic app or something. Thanks for the info though.

Yeah.. sorry

This is remarkable development. Welldone!

Thank you!

Wow congratulations. Looking good

Thank you!!

yay! good for you i like this

Thank you!