Sort:  

Absolutely! It seems that school is geared toward teaching people how to be cogs in a machine rather than how to be innovative, think outside of the box and be leaders.

It would be so beneficial to society if our education systems could produce more self reliant citizens. Well, obviously working as a community is also important, but I meet too many kids who just don't know how to figure things out and are actually repelled by anything that even slightly smells educational.

I totally agree, the most important thing school should teach us is to have a critical spirit and curiosity. Then work discipline (the practice) is also very important. Learning a musical instrument is perhaps the best example, there is nobody out there that mastered an instrument without practicing for hours, every day, for many years.

I'm a self made programmer, just because I have a critical spirit and curiosity. It's happened a long time ago when my school provides a programming class. After about 2 sessions they stop it. Started from there my spirit and curiosity boost up and I cannot stop it.