Steem Motivation #2: The Weight of My Body

Wow.

So this is how much I've grown in the past few weeks.

weight.png

Maybe that pizza wasn't a good idea. But it was too good to pass up.

pexels-photo-708587.jpeg

I am what I eat. If I eat pizza, I will become fat. If I eat a salad, I will become lean.

You: Going through this is tough. I'm not saying I'm the only one but... I just can't handle my weight anymore. It is just too much. I think I'm this ugly piece of blob that no one would like.

Me: Stop. Just stop. You are not a piece of blob. I know as I write this that you can understand that I do understand. Those feelings of being worthless and non-important. Never-ending thoughts of how much will this piece of pizza will affect my weight.

To be honest it does and it will. But it doesn't have to. Everything you eat will affect you. We are not immune to the overabundance of food. Our bodies are fat-storing machines and nature will not say beauty is more important than life. We store it because we are meant to be active.

If you're not that active, keep yourself busy. Drink a cup of coffee or tea when you feel those anxious feelings setting in. Keep in mind that being overweight is not a curse but a transition to a better you.

That person you are, will cease to exist when this journey is over. Keep in mind, this journey never ends. You will take it to your deathbed.

I remember my grandfather. He would always eat such a huge portions of food. It could easily feed two people. He would work from sunrise to sunset and be thin as a whistle. The lifestyle he had did benefit from eating well. But I saw that my lifestyle would never work that way. I was just to sedentary.

Going for a walk? Yes, I did that. But is not enough. To get that heart pumping you had to do more.

Running will do that. Stairs will do that. Cycling will do that. Want to put that heart to work? Walk at least 20 blocks in under 15 minutes and you will know what I'm saying.

Every time you skip the elevator it will add that much needed push and get you on your way.
stairs.png

Me: I hate stairs also. Believe me I do hate stairs. But I'm grateful we have them because my heart is benefiting of each step. It's one step at a time.

Don't believe me? Try it. Take the stairs. You will understand how bad a shape you are when you are gasping for air at the third floor. That's your body reacting to strain. That's your body changing.

As time goes by you will go up the floors like nothing is happening. That's your body changing...again. This are real-time updates. Who needs graphs and applications when we are capable of deducing how our body is reacting instantly.

These milestones are much more significant that a simple needle moving across a screen. A graph doesn't mean anything when you can't climb 10 flight of stairs without breaking a sweat. Your heart will tell.
feliz.png
Sometimes we feel great deep in our hearts. One particular moment that is 100% true is when you climb those six flight of stairs and hear your heart pumping like nothing is going on.

Sort:  

Congratulations @steemmotivation! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @steemmotivation! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!