WHAT IF IT WORKS? THE MILLION DOLLAR QUESTION.

in #motivational7 years ago (edited)

Am fresh here and still trying to learn the ropes on how to blog on here, like i mentioned in my "introduceyourself" post this is my first attempt at blogging and i will be doing an on-the-spur-of-the-moment kinda blogging.

something happened to me today and i would like to share the experience here. Today i needed to use the ATM machine and when i approached one the queue was so long, i guess about 25-30 people on the queue, there was another ATM machine beside but nobody moved towards it.I got there and joined the queue then asked the guy that was last on the queue before i joined what was wrong with the other machine, he said he didn't know but that someone had said there isn't money in it.

()

My instinct told me to try the other machine, it wouldn't take anything from me and i would lose nothing by trying, i can always come back and join the queue since i have been on the line already if it didn't work. i moved straight to the other machine everybody neglected and inserted my card, lo and behold the machine dispensed and gave me the cash i needed, as i was walking away like a magician of some sort, most people broke away from the queue to use the same machine that was neglected.

()

As i was reflecting on this incident, the following thoughts formed on my mind:

1. A lot of people don't get what they want because the refused to try.

2. These people refuse to try because someone has told them it won't work.

3. A lot of people won't take steps to do what others are not doing because of the "WHAT IF IT DOESN'T WORK ?" question.

4. These people ask this question because they don't want to take risks.

5. Not taking risks might delay success, just like those on queue that would achieve in 2 hrs what they would have achieved in 2 mins.

6. When a trailblazer comes, takes the risks and succeeds probably after much criticisms, others break rank and follow.

This experience has taught me to always ask the question "WHAT IF IT WORKS ?" and i hope this will motivate someone having doubts about breaking the norm and blazing the trail with his or her dreams.

If you think this post is useful go ahead and upvote it, resteem it and follow me @darkerhorse for more interesting posts. Thank you.

P/S  This post might be especially useful to those people you are still trying to convince to join the steemit community, a lot of them usually ask the question "HOW CAN THIS WORK?" and now your reply should be "WHAT IF IT WORKS"?  especially when they don't have anything to loose trying,lol.


Sort:  

"When a trailblazer comes, takes the risks and succeeds probably after much criticisms, others break rank and follow."

Yes

most times people wants to see someone test the waters before they jump in. lol. thanks for reading my post.

Fear of Death.....Fear of the Unknown....Fear of Loss

These are deeply ingrained systems of thought within our consciousness...that shape our participations unconsciously in a lot of ways. This has has been my resustls of investigating....I started to really question my participations...and slow down to think and and ask questions...and realized....woah...it's like our whole world ways of thinking....educated, indoctrinated into us...have been a sort of weary way of going....Governance through fear.

Like you say:

most times people wants to see someone test the waters before they jump in. lol.

which indicates a sort of self-imposed 'inferiority' mind-construct....wheres it's like needing a hero of sorts....an Authority to make sure everything is OK...someone greater to take care of things.

I'm reminded now of how our real power is in 'taking responsibilty'...our ability to respond....direct situations....figure things out....Investigate....test things. This is where Creation Happens....the one's willing to take risks, despite the fears that come to mind...and are willing to explore and really walk into the unknown...and yes that will be uncomfortable at times most definitely...because there isn't the comfort of knowing the result....but really that's the adventure in living for real on the 'cutting edge' of time.

Steem On,
The Dream is Live,
You Have a Golden Ticket.

I really enjoyed your post...sharing the process you walked and reflected upon.

And I enjoyed your comment here above....it really got me thinking.

Pardon the loose style of my writing here....just wanted to get everything out on the paper here as what was coming to mind. What you talk about is things that are close to my heart.

I love taking the plunge and doing the big deep dive off the cliff....always way less of a big deal after it's done the first time....but still pretty significant :)

i wrote a blog and i referenced a line from your post
Things can be Mostly Excellent for Everyone

Followed because I read this post from start to end. Welcome to steemit @darkerhorse.

That is a very good insight on human social behaviour. It shows just how much our everyday so called rational thinking is flawed ahah

Woooooow! cool and insightful...... Tnx for the post man.

thanks for reading my post.have a nice day.

please upvote all my posts please

Interesting post, people often limit themselves by thinking they can't do something when in reality they can.

Really good story. It take attention until the end. Also have important message which says that man need always to listen to himself.

Enjoyed the post, upvoted and resteemed.

thanks for reading , follow for more interesting post.

Hey @darkerhorse, those are rules I try to follow. Never be afraid to take the risk. Never is too late to start. Any way pretty much the same you just said. That is why I and my friends, colleagues, family decided to try to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Thank you in advance for your votes, resteems, promotion or donation. All we gain on Steemit goes to forest conservation.

its a good cause you are promoting, wish you all the best.

I've been dependent on my job so long. My balls have grown and your experience is proof, like nike say JUST DO IT