5 Tips how to get things done

in #motivational6 years ago

do-it-now-1432945_640.png

A while ago a read Brian Tracy's - The no excuse power of self-discipline and it gave me this AHA moment. He explained that you have to invest at least 5% of your income in yourself. It makes perfect sense. We are capable of so much yet we limit ourselves daily. I have been a stay at home mom for the last decade and when I tried to enter the job market my CV read like a post-it note. The only work I could find was at a pet shop for R15 per hour (a little more than $1). WTF??? How am I worth a little more than $1 per hour? After reading Brian's book, I understood why. I never invested in myself.

So, my fellow Procrastinators, my 5 Tips that work for me to get things done.

Set an alarm for 30 minutes

the-eleventh-hour-758926_640.jpg

Work for 30 minutes and see how much you can get done. By spreading your work schedule in parts it makes it easier to get the inspiration flowing. If you want to stop after 30 minutes there is no guilt!

Start with an easy task

Don't jump into the deep side of the pool. Start by doing something that you know will only take a few minutes but will give you that feeling of you are awesome. Ok, maybe sending an email or updating a blog might not be all that awesome but it will give you a feeling of accomplisment and that is a good start.

Excercise

cheetah-2859581_640.jpg

Get the blood pumping by doing some early morning exercise and you will be reaping the benefits the whole day.

Make your work environment work for you

If you can't get anything done, it might be time to change things around. If I find myself procrastinating and wasting time, I go to the public library. It is easier to work when everyone around you is doing the same. Maybe there are just too many distraction keeping you from your work.

Find balance

cup-2123710_640.jpg

Don't let worry and stress rule your life, find your balance. Work hard when you have to and play even harder. You only have one life. Enjoy it.

And if you are wondering if I took the pet shop job... Hell no! I do work on Freelancer, post on Youtube, just started on Steemit and I do affiliate marketing. I might not have made millions but I am earning much more than $1 an hour.

Remember, invest in yourself!