MXGP of Italy - Confirmed Injured riders

in #motocross7 years ago

So we have had the good news of all the riders which are making comebacks this weekend in the MXGP of italy at the Ottobiano track, now we have to look at the unfortunate riders that are forced to sit this one out.

Van Horebeek #89

An unfortunate collision during qualifying in Russia left the Belgain with a disslocated finger. He was hoping to return quickly but unfortunatly, after taking advice from the medical team, has forced him to sit this one out. It's good news that he will be back in the thick of it soon though.

Van Horebeek Said:

"It's a bummer to not be racing in Ottobiano; I really like that track and I have always felt like I am really fast there," Van Horebeek said in a recent press release. "It's going to be difficult for me not to be on the line, but I am more focused on my training now and coming back stronger than before. I will see the doctor on Friday and hopefully have the plaster taken off my hand. They will tape my two fingers together and it shouldn't be too long after that that I can be back on the bike. I will make a decision based on the strength and pain in my hand next week whether I return in Portugal or Loket."

Kevin Strijbos #22

The long term Suzuki World MXGP rider Kevin Strijbos withdrew earlier in the season after the MXGP of europe. He had ongoing elbow issues that were not healing so was forced to sit out and take time to recover. He will not be ready for Italy though but it's looking hihghly likely he will be back for Aguenda.

Kevin Strijbos said:

"I won’t be lining up in Ottobiano, but I’ve got the all clear from the doctor and have actually started riding again this week," he said in a press release. I’m pretty excited to get back out there, start racing again and hopefully I’ll be good to go for the MXGP of Portugal, which is the round after next."

His deal with Suzuki will run its course at the end of this season and he has obviously lost a great deal of points. He will have to hang it all out there on his return to impress them and earn a factory ride next season.

Hunter Lawrence #96

The doom and gloom in the Suzuki camp continues as Hunter Lawrence will also miss Italy. Hunter has had an amazing few weeks and been a hot contender for some podiums! Bad luck caught up with him though at the ADAC MX Masters and he sustained a compressed vertebrae... Tough luck for a rider finding such good form as he has been in.

Hunter Lawrence said:

“I will be sitting out the MXGP in Ottobiano, as I had a crash when racing the ADAC championship in Germany," he said. "I thought I was ok afterwards and thought I’d be good enough for the weekend, but I’ve since found out that I suffered a compressed vertebrae and it’s too serious for me to consider lining up for the MXGP. I didn’t feel like I was anywhere close to my limit when I crashed, it was just one of those unfortunate things. Now I’m just going to concentrate on my recovery so I can be back behind the starting gate as soon as possible."

All riders will be getting the best expert care and we hope to see them all back soon.

Sort:  

oh nooo
really bad news to me

Hope so mate, they are in good hands

Please lend 6 steem will give

wish you good luck hope you recover soon

Nice one mate

At the races is always happening something, let recover

Never a normal day at the office 😂

dislocated finger
ongoing elbow issues
compressed vertebrae
Well none of those sound particularly great.
I hope everyone has a quick recovery.

No injury is good... but check a footballer or rugby injury list... sport equals injurys.

Wish them a quick recovery :(

We all do mate thx

With the elbow issue in mind I think it's a good choice to not ride in Italy.

Yeah sometimes you need to step back. I myself have an ongoing knee issue.., not ridden in a while 😢

It's a risky sport!

All sport is... footballers tear hamstrings!

Yeah or worse. Well, is fishing dangerous? Hmm I guess you could die of boredom, so yeah :)

May he recover soon
Prayer for the them
You are good in delivering news timely

Thank you mate

Let's hope those that didn't make it to Italy will recover and get back on track soon
Best wishes Andrei

Hope so mate. Tracks better with them in it!

I agree mate
Rough sport do

thanks for sharing

Nice post man, it looks very professional.

Thanks man, doing my best 😬

It's too bad to hear about those riders who couldn't make it. Hopefully they'll be back up to full health soon! Prayers for them.

They will be Back soon, tough cookies 🍪

Cool blog post!

nice one @dolte :)

Congratulations @b0y2k

You took 27 place in my Top 100 of posts

wo0p :)

Supporting him mentally here!

lets have hope that when he gets back, good things to come..

watch this space! good things coming :)

That green suit is so cool!.. Well not very good to hear these news, but it takes some time to recover. Upvoted.

factory riders get some slick kit :)

Nice...

thanks @jondahl

Thanks again b0y2k.

oh...no....

not good i know :(

I don't know anything about motorcross, but the bikes sure look pretty cool :)

Thats a good start @livingdreams :)

Nice articles, been following u.

U might like my posts on motocross. I am posting some of the trips i have been on.
This is my latest trip- down a 3km mine

https://steemit.com/motocross/@thinkit/motocross-in-an-old-abandoned-mine-3km-deep

thanks man will check it out.

thats getting old now check this one out- its doing pretty well. I am trying to post all original motocross stuff build a 360 helmet pole and the videos came out sweet.. heres the link

https://steemit.com/motocross/@thinkit/motocross-video-with-diy-360-helmet-pole-gopro

Great posts. Thanks! Very interested in all this as I work with many professional athletes including motocross racers. Looking forward to your next post.

Nice one @mrsportscience :)
would love to hear who you work with. My friend, and owner of my gym, trains some MXGP riders and also his son races locally.

I mainly work with Todd Waters and have worked with Jed Beaton before he left for Europe. I

That is one fast Auzzie :) watched him at MXoN and he was quick!

Yeah he is! Pretty much a full stock bike too that day. Had some bad luck with a crash. He is a great guy. Best ambassador for the sport.

I wish you recover soon.

im ok! :) but yes i hope they recover soon.

Congratulations @b0y2k! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!