You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi Steemit! I'm b0y2k and i wanna share the gift of motocross

in #motocross8 years ago

Thanks mate,
I have been riding for about 8 years now i think. Too late in life to be amazing at it unfortunately haha.
I see how fast some of the young kids are and its amazing thinking how good they will be...
I would've given anything to ride as a kid but we were not a rich family.
I waited till i had my own money and followed the dream :) haha

Sort:  

Back in the 70s, it was not necessarily a rich man's sport. I mostly bought my own bikes and paid my own way. My dad didn't really need to contribute muchn and I mooched a lot of rides with my friend's families. The little 4 cyl pickup trucks were avail then and got 30mpg and gas was cheap. Race entry fees were really low, and 2 strokes were cheap to rebuild.

i know what you mean... modern motocross has money splashed all over it! I used to ride my friends TR 50 smoker after school in his dads field in the late 80s. It was way to tall for me haha, constantly falling off...

I grew up in San Francisco, and believe it or not, in those days we could and did easily get away with riding on Mt San Bruno. My best friend and racing buddy lived in Brisbane near S. San Fran and we could ride one block on the streets and be in the dirt. We had many practice tracks there. We even made an illegal (but never busted or even hassled) track near the San Francisco zoo. You could sometimes hear the animals if it was feeding time, and of course they could probably hear us. LOL.

edit for typo