Well my hoarding days seem over.

in #motorbikes4 years ago (edited)

DSC_0276.JPG

Afternoon.

Well it seems it actually feels good getting rid of some projects in bits.
I get to help other people finish their own project & I get rid of some bikes I have admitted defeat about restoring, or have simply changed my mind as the whether they are actually worth doing.

So another Yamaha rd lc started coming apart today, that is the 3rd one in 3 weeks.

It also supplies a steady stream of income, bonus.

Rather disappointingly the parts I ordered to complete the Montesa 348 Malcolm Rathmell special on April the 6th have still not arrived from Spain.

DSC_0010.JPG

So there it sits in the old farm house where nobody goes except me.

The seller was and is rude and now refuses to speak to me, he even started an argument with me on a Montesa forum even though I had not mentioned him by name or his shop.

I just said "I could finish this in a day if the parts arrived from Spain" which prompted him to comment and swear at me in front of many others. I repeated his last words to me before his rant, which was "As you said to me last time we spoke, I do not want to speak to you ever again" and left it at that, he was left looking a very bitter, abusive angry seller, I feel sure that is not the way to do business, but each to their own.

Paypal are also dragging their feet with a refund, it was due on the 12th of this month, then they changed it to the 15th, now it is changed to the 19th, if I get it back then who knows, they will probably move it back again.

The funny thing is with paypal is that when it is me as the seller, they refund the buyer day 1 in any dispute, but me as a buyer gets treated totally different, seems there are one rule for others and a different one for me.

Anyway, off to do some spannering, catch you tomorrow.

Sort:  

I hope you do get the refund, it is so hard anymore to show trust toward some people. At least you were able to make a few people happy with your parts, and karma does have a way of circling back.

Thanks friend, and yes, I think it does come full circle and me hoarding rare parts helps nobody in the long run.

If at the time of acquiring it was planed to be used then it really is not hoarding. Plans do change, then we turn our gatherings in to dispersion, and a new gather is happy to plan to use it in the future. It is a good thing that so many plans get changed, else there would be no continuity for parts of old to be re-used.

That is sort of my logic, I planned to keep the parts 10 to 20 years then release them when they are scarce, but that time is now not in another 15 years, as I have been here nearly 6 years, and these parts have dried up online, so sell I will.

Congratulations @missionx! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments. Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Maybe the seller will not get as much business now when people read what he said lol.

One would hope so, but people are funny creatures as we all know.

Is it worth re-visiting the Anglo-Spanish war of 1585-1604? You know, two armadas of warships shooting cannon at each other, raining hell-fire upon the other...I reckon you'd get your parts quick smart! Lol. (I cannot condone this suggestion, it is just a suggestion...)

Ebay did the same to me when I sold some camera stuff that never got paid for. The held it open for weeks and weeks which cost me sales to other buyers. I ended up giving it all to a friend in frustration and actually felt better for it.

I hope the Spaniard's send the parts.

Now...off you go, mobilise the armada!

Lol cheers my friend, I just logged into paypal and to no surprise they have pushed the refund back another 7 days, so I put in a formal complaint for all the good it will do.

I stopped using the site after a couple issues like this. The problem is that so many outlets use it to sell. Frustrating. Good luck with it though.

Don't mind him, he's from Barcelona

image.png

OUCH springs to mind.