You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There and Back Again - Romania

in #motorcyclelast year

Wow, you were lucky to find those guys. As you say, it's not ideal to have a weird fault when so far from home. Do you think Traveller is good for more countries now?

Were the border guards okay with you taking pictures, or did they not know? You definitely don't want problems with the authorities.

Did you find good food and beer? I assume Alex pointed you that way. I used to work with a load of Romanians who my employer outsourced work to. They all spoke great English. My mum and her mum went on a coach tour there in the Ceaușescu days. That was quite an experience, but I'd hope the infrastructure is better now.

We're missing you over here. Be sure to post a link to this on the Jammers group as I'm sure folk will be fascinated. I can set people up with Hive accounts if they need them.

!BEER

Sort:  

I did wonder whether to call it a day, but have stuck with it, and we are pressing on.
Good food and beer aplenty over here.
The younger generation here are revising opinions on Ceaușescu.
They are aware that their parents unanimously hated him, and that there was a lot of poverty at the end, but they are also quick to point out all of the municipal buildings and city projects that were completed under his regime.
They may well be entirely wrong, but if they are, it just goes to show that it takes just one generation to start to forget the lessons of the past.
I'll copy this over to the Jammers.
Take care and send my love.

I've heard some Russians are nostalgic for Stalin. Yes, it's easy to get thing done when you're a dictator. The problem with freedom is that you are free to be poor. This may account for various 'populists' getting elected. People may forget the secret police arresting anyone who spoke out.

Anyway, you can at least sample what these countries have to offer.

Ride free!

!PIZZA