There and Back Again - Under Way

in #motorcycle11 months ago

I got absolutely soooooo fed up with waiting on the Iranian Consulate, and trying to solve border problems with China, that I just had to go for it.
The trip will be shorter for sure, but at least there IS a trip.
The likely alternative would mean always planning and never doing.

Once the decision was made, everything came about with dizzying speed.

As I type this, I’m sitting in an apartment not far from the Slovakian border.
Below is the route covered up to this point.

UK to CZ.jpg

Monday had me heading to Folkstone to board the train and make my first trip through the Channel Tunnel.
Very easy, but not much of a view.

35 minutes and I was riding in the land of Francois Truffaut and Pom Bears.

I had always planned on a swift passage through Western Europe to reduce costs, so it was a heavy day of motorway riding. Related to costs though, I was pleased to discover that motorcycles are exempt from tolls.

Flew through Belgium without even sampling the chocolate, and didn’t notice that I’d put a toe into The Netherlands until I’d arrived in Germany.

The first night was in the picturesque town of Boppard, not far from Frankfurt.

Boppard Scape 1.jpg

No real activity though, as it was Bank Holiday, and not much happens there on a Monday anyway, so it was a sort of double-whammy of dull, but I was shattered from the heavy days riding anyway, so any thoughts of Oompah bands, girls with giant beer glasses, or guys walking around in leather lederhosen were far from my tired mind.
Although I gather you can get that kind of action in any number of East London bars every weekend.

A hostel with four bunks in a room, but a single garage for the bike.
My wheels had it better than I did.

Bright and early Tuesday, and it’s on the road again, heading for Nürnberg.
Lots more motorway, and two McDonald’s later, and I was at the apartment.
If me and the bike were having a competition, then I just evened the score.
Nice single room for me, but an open car park for the bike.

nmuremb.jpg

The downside was hauling all the bags up to the first floor for security, and then re-loading Wednesday morning.
Traveller (as my bike has been christened) was sulking. A couple of times while on idle, the engine would cut out and the gauge lights all went out.
Thankfully the tantrum didn’t last long and has not been repeated.
So far…

Wednesday saw me crossing the Czech border.
I was expecting some sort of checkpoint, but there was just a little sign.

Screenshot 2023-05-04 213452.jpg

All one big happy Europe it seems.
Except on the currency..
No Euros in The Czech Republic.
They use the Koruna.
Of which I have none!
Thanks heavens for the Revolut card I was talked into..
The roads were far better than I had been lead to believe, and much of the country I was driving through looked like it had come straight out of a fairytale.
Forests, little villages, shrines on the way out of towns…

The third night’s accommodation had Traveller and me equally pampered.

It looked like one of those French Napoleonic farms, surrounded by a wall, but rustic as can be.

CZ Acc 1 a.JPG

CZ Acc 1 b.JPG

Traveller.JPG

Arrrrggghhhh! Accidental Self-Portrait!

self ;portrait.jpg

The owner showed me to the apartment, which was amazing, indicated the ex-stable where my mount could spend the night, and then went and sat by his very own lake, looking out over the water.
And that seems to be his life.
And quite happy he seems too.

Due to the constant rushing from one point on a map to another, I have yet to discover anything resembling night-life, and today was no different as I hurtled across The Czech Republic to Vilémovice, a few miles from the Slovakian border.
This is a habit I have to break, or my strongest memories of this trip will be the variety of service stations I’ve seen since embarking on this adventure.
The expensive places are in the rear view mirror.
It’s time to slow down.

Let’s see what Slovakia has to offer.

Itchy Boots.jpg
(image from 'ItchyBoots.com')

No, I don't suppose it will look like this, but we can all dream..

Sort:  

the engine would cut out and the gauge lights all went out 😮

Well, that would worry me straight off, but looks like no issue for a cool geezer..

Nice to finally see some pictures!
Let's see what happens next.. 😁

We need a music video from a mountain top! With goats!

My adventure starts this Sunday. Funny how we go opposite directions at the same time.
I hope your Enfield behaves like a mature one and spare you any issues. The tires look like missing some leaning angle but with all this weight located so high I can understand why. Best of luck and safe rides!

I'm guessing I'll be shopping for tyres by the time I reach Turkey.
Racing in 1st and 2nd, so a bit of clutch adjusting this evening I think.
A Clutch was one of my spares in a worst case scenario..
Most of the weight is in the side bags, with the top box sved for locking away the helmet when I go walk-about..

Good decision not to overload that huge top box. Scares me just by looking at it :) Not that mine is that smaller - I got a 52lt Givi.

I wonder what a "leaning angle" is? 🤔
Have a nice trip and looking forward to your reports! 😃

I'm not a native speaker hence my terminology might be far from spot on but looking at how rectangular the tires are (especially the rear) I can easily assume they must have spent a lot of time upright. But that might also be due to a lot of highway riding away from winding roads. Thanks a lot for your wishes!

Ah, I see! No, the term makes perfect sense now! Worn straight down.. 👍😎
Safe riding! 😃

Thank you! Will pay back with pictures texts and videos 🙂

Yay! Nice! 👍😃

Slow down, you are missing a lot of cool places on your way ;-)

The trip will be shorter for sure, but at least there IS a trip.
The likely alternative would mean always planning and never doing.

A shame you can't do quite what you hoped for, but as you say, at some point you just have to make the most of what you've got... and from the route you've shared in other posts, you're still gonna have one hell of an adventure!

I look forward to following along and admiring the views as you go :-)

Going to loop down through Greece and the Balkans and home via Italy and Switzerland, so lots to make up for it..
Thanks.

Good to hear you are underway and making good progress. I really hope the bike behaves and that the weather is kind. Is it comfortable on long rides? How's the fuel economy? I expect you've had to fill up a few times. The frictionless borders make life easier.

Please keep updating us and I look forward to a video with some music from you.

!LUV !HUG

BTW You need to check if the Czechs talk about Brno.

image.png

A good few refills so far
No major bike issues yet, but adjusting the clutch this evening.
Video may come later as I seem to be spending all my time in the saddle.
Haven't found any local music yet.
A girl I was talking to in Slovakia said the they have no open mics, and just a few Karaoke places, so pickings may be scarce.

The music scene is likely to be different over there. Maybe you can kick things off with an impromptu set. Maybe find some buskers and talk to them.

Had a !BEER yet?

If I survive tonights hotel.
Dodgy looking guy.
Run down hotel.
I appear to be the only guest.
Straight out of the movie 'Hostel'

You take care mate. Sleep well.

untitled.gif

Supposed to be trying to find Vlad's Castle tomorrow.
I wonder if the door has enormous knoc... I'm sure you know the rest.. lol

Dear @steve-o2023, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @steevc.
(1/2)

Hi @steve-o2023,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am